Advertisement
Advertisement

Las Cruces Academy

Private | K-6 | 34 students

Our school is best known for our implementation of the Singapore math system.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

My son was in a private school where he seemed to always be bored. Since he joined Las Cruces Academy this year he is excited about his education. He loves learning Mandarin Chinese and hands on science projects and field trips. The teachers are all scholars in their field and I feel privileged that my son is able to grow and thrive in this fabulous school. This cool symbolizes to the childrent that being smart is cool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

'Brains That Matter' is my characterization of the school. They have higher-than-normal standards because they expect more from the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

LCA is a great school where students can learn at their own pace and not get bored or left behind. The staff is dedicated to each child's learning and help when assistance is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

LCA provides a unique combination of fostering, nurturing while simultaneously challenging each student s individual aptitudes. Low student to teacher ratios provides individualized attention. Parents are provided with weekly progress reports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

My son started his k in LAC. My son loves his school! It is good learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

My son has been attending LCA for the past year and I am very happy with the school. I really like that he gets Spanish and Chinese everyday. There is an emphasis on reading and I couldn't be happier with the math program. My son is really happy at this school and our whole family would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

My son was one of the first students to attend the Las Cruces Academy when it opened four years ago. What a great school this has been for him! There is nothing else like this in the Mesilla valley. They provide a great education in math, science, reading and writing, language, and social studies, and all the children receive a great deal of personal interaction. I can't imagine my son going to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Our son has gone to the LCA from K-4 so far, and it is fantastic. He receives lots of individualized attention, is able to work at his own level and be challenged every day, especially in math, and the instructors are excellent. At the LCA, he has been exposed to science and several languages, every day, which otherwise doesn't happen until much later in the public schools. We are thrilled with the school and would not send him anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I have had the wonderful privilege of teaching at Las Cruces Academy since it opened and am constantly amazed at the level of learning that is achieved by all the students. They work at their own speed but are continually challenged to improve and explore. We all care deeply for one another and respect each other. I can't recommend it enough to those families seeking a high level of education for their children. It's truly a place where kids can learn and play, and where the children don't want to leave at the end of their day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2013

LCA enables gifted and advanced students to progress at their ability level rather than their grade level in Math, Chinese and Spanish. They are in grade groups for subjects such as art and social studies, and mixed grades for music. Field trips are earned by reading a set number of age appropriate books! The school is large enough to have a broad and interesting curriculum and small enough for each student to be valued and respected by others. There are no cliques. The students enjoy recesses throughout the day, and P.E. They also produce a newspaper each semester and charity fundraiser performances. They choose which charities they wish to support, both local and global, and one group started a paracord business last year as a math project for fundraising , as well as collecting food for a food bank and books for a reading foundation. Even though they have a long day by most school standards, most students wish to remain after school for at least an hour to do projects, play games and do homework. I recommend LCA to any parent with a gifted child whose abilities are not encouraged or nurtured in regular school.This is a really exceptional school, for really exceptional children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

I am so impressed with the level of education that our daughter is getting at this very cozy, small school. Because the ratio of student to teacher in this school is so small, all the students get one on one interactions as compared to public schools. Also, the level at which they are being taught is higher in comparison to most public schools here in Cruces.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

I was very concerned with where my son would attend kindergarten because he was a very particular pre-schooler. The small class sizes along with the excellent attention by highly qualified teachers has been wonderful for my son's education. He has flourished at Las Cruces Academy socially as well as academically. He is able to move forward as fast or as slow as needed, without the typical public school "everyone on the same page no matter what" environment. I also really love the fact that the school offers daily instruction in both Spanish and Chinese. We are so happy with this choice of education for our son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

I am so impressed with the level of dedication from the teachers at LC Academy to meet the needs of my children! They are so compassionate and encourage all students to learn above their grade level if they are ready. My kids feel safe and supported in this smaller, community school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 4:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Lou Ellen Kay
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • Green Chamber of Commerce
  • Hispano Chamber of Commerce

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Take Flight Phonics program
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Las Cruces Academy empowers gifted, advanced, and talented children by providing academic challenge, individual attention, and a nurturing environment. Our children excel in one or more subjects beyond grade level. Our mission is to guide them toward realization of their full potential intellectually, socially, and emotionally.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1755 Avenida de Mesilla
Las Cruces, NM 88046-1666
Website: Click here
Phone: (575) 521-9384

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT