Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Las Cruces, NM
Students enrolled: 855

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sierra Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a community member
The phrase "You get out of life what you put into it" definitely describes SMS accurately. As long as you are willing to put in the effort, you will succeed. Inappropriate language is everywhere, so it is not distinct at Sierra. The teachers (especially in the magnet programs) are great. I think they are inspired to teach by the students' desire to learn, and that made my learning experience especially unique. I never really interacted with my principal. P.S. The most successful students graduating from high school are...usually from Sierra Middle School. The LCHS BBC is dominated by Sierra media magnet alumni, and the academic rigor is pushed by Sierra science magnet alumni. Juuuust saying.

Sierra Middle School 4

Posted November 07, 2010
- a community member
If you are looking for the best middle school in Las Cruces, here it is! Sierra has magnet programs, especially the science magnet. We go on so many fun field trips. I feel like Sierra is my second home. The teachers here are awesome, some of the best I've ever had, and I've had a lot of teachers. If you are going to go to Sierra, you'll have the best time EVER!


Sierra Middle School 3

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
Sierra Elementary has been a disappointment for us and our child. We expected a great school, however, and from the start, the classes have been over-crowded, sixth graders are beeing bullied and put in class with eighth graders when teachers are absent, and there is a lack of guidance, follow-up, and communication. Sierra was the best in its class but the leadership has gotten complacent about their ranking and they simply don't care anymore. That's a shame and my feelings are resonating throughtout the 6th grade parents.

Sierra Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 26, 2009
- a student
This is the best school ever!!!! Any student would be lucky to go there. They have great teachers, programs, everything a mom and dad could want. WHOO WHOO GO FALCONS!!!!!

Sierra Middle School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school in Las Cruces. Great magnet programs and principal leadership. The school also offers great art and music classes.


Sierra Middle School 5

Posted March 07, 2009
- a student
Great if you want to do anything in science and media. Good science magnet and music department.

Sierra Middle School 1

Posted December 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sierra Middle School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a student
Great teachers, motivated classes. The Science Magnant has great field trips and teaches skills needed for high school.


Sierra Middle School 5

Posted October 20, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sierra Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sierra Middle School
1700 Spruce Ave, Las Cruces, NM  88001
(505) 527-5800
Last modified Sierra Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sierra Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top