Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sierra Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a community member
The phrase "You get out of life what you put into it" definitely describes SMS accurately. As long as you are willing to put in the effort, you will succeed. Inappropriate language is everywhere, so it is not distinct at Sierra. The teachers (especially in the magnet programs) are great. I think they are inspired to teach by the students' desire to learn, and that made my learning experience especially unique. I never really interacted with my principal. P.S. The most successful students graduating from high school are...usually from Sierra Middle School. The LCHS BBC is dominated by Sierra media magnet alumni, and the academic rigor is pushed by Sierra science magnet alumni. Juuuust saying.

Sierra Middle School 4

Posted November 07, 2010
- a community member
If you are looking for the best middle school in Las Cruces, here it is! Sierra has magnet programs, especially the science magnet. We go on so many fun field trips. I feel like Sierra is my second home. The teachers here are awesome, some of the best I've ever had, and I've had a lot of teachers. If you are going to go to Sierra, you'll have the best time EVER!


Sierra Middle School 3

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
Sierra Elementary has been a disappointment for us and our child. We expected a great school, however, and from the start, the classes have been over-crowded, sixth graders are beeing bullied and put in class with eighth graders when teachers are absent, and there is a lack of guidance, follow-up, and communication. Sierra was the best in its class but the leadership has gotten complacent about their ranking and they simply don't care anymore. That's a shame and my feelings are resonating throughtout the 6th grade parents.

Sierra Middle School
no rating

Posted August 26, 2009
- a student
This is the best school ever!!!! Any student would be lucky to go there. They have great teachers, programs, everything a mom and dad could want. WHOO WHOO GO FALCONS!!!!!

Sierra Middle School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school in Las Cruces. Great magnet programs and principal leadership. The school also offers great art and music classes.


Sierra Middle School 5

Posted March 07, 2009
- a student
Great if you want to do anything in science and media. Good science magnet and music department.

Sierra Middle School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a student
Great teachers, motivated classes. The Science Magnant has great field trips and teaches skills needed for high school.

Sierra Middle School 5

Posted March 05, 2006
- a parent
In addition to being known for the magnet programs, this middle school should also be recognized for its' traditional program. The teachers at this school are dedicated to the students and willing to work with parents. My son had always struggled acedemically in elementary school. When he came to Sierra he has made instant and tremedous strides. I credit the dedication of the teachers at this school for my son's success. The teachers are always willing to help my son and always answer all my questions as a parent. My son is presently on the School's Honor Roll, Band, and Civil Air Patrol and participated and placed 2nd in the Science Fair. A one hundred eighty degree turn around from his acedemic experience in elementary school. Teacher quality and leadership do make a difference.


Sierra Middle School 5

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
This middle school has a media magnet, a dance magnet, a science magnet,a theater magnet and a piano magnet. No other middle school in the southern part of the entire state offers this amount of intensified curricula. My child has benefitted from the science magnet immensely, with many field trips, projects, science fairs including overnight trips to other cities and states. My child will be going on a field trip to California at the end of this year and it will only be the end of the7th grade. For a public school , the personnel, the administration, the parents all rival any school in the nation including private academies. They are very dedicated, very involved and work hard day in and day out. It is what education should be and if the student is responding in kind, he or she will be a major success in what is pursued beyond.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sierra Middle School
1700 Spruce Ave, Las Cruces, NM  88001
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (505) 527-5800
Last modified Sierra Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top