Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillrise Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

This one BIG teacher often yelled at my autistic son for not speaking which wasn't so welcome. When asked if I could change his class, they said all classes are full and my son continued to come home crying from being scared and humiliated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

As an involved parent of multiple children that have attended Hillrise since the school opened, I can say that this school is a great school. The staff is very dedicated doing their very best for the benefit of every child that attends the school. The staff really cares about all the diverse population of children. In our own personal experience, all our children received a great educational foundation at this school that helped them in later grades, and ultimately to successful college achievement and careers. This school consistently achieves high scores for the students. The staff attends professional development and always seeks out the best for the benefit of their students. There is strong parental involvement. The school does a good job with communication and the school website is current and always very helpful. The administration changes a lot (as it does with many schools) which does create problems with changes (not always positive) in school climate, culture, and history. Can it do better in certain areas - yes, as many other schools could do, too. The specials the children attend are top-notch and do a great job presenting valuable information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

My son started school here and was bullied. No one helped. The teacher would watch 3rd grade kids call him 'gay lord' (mind you he has two dads) and he would either smug or just watch. I complained to school officials I wanted a teacher who didn't condone maltreatment of my son and they said all the class were full till at last in March they made room shorlty after the teacher laughed when my son said he's not gay because his parents are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

My daughter is beginning her 4th year at Hillrise and it has been up and down. Mrs. Fletcher her 1st principal was a gem and kept the school at above excellent. Then Mrs. Marta came and things went swiftly downhill with communication and AYP. We have a new principal this year and morale really seems to be up, so we are all crossing our fingers that Hillrise will get back to what it used to be and we'll get AYP again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

Very happy with this school. We transfered from another school after not being happy at all. Every part of this school is great. I was really impressed by the principals involvment and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

This school is truly a community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

We move our daughter to HIllrise 2 years ago from a local christian school. It is the best thing we ever could have done for her. All of the teacher we have interacted with have been very motivated, dynamic professionals who have the ability to flex their teaching method to match the child. There are a number of resources to address any problem areas and the after school program is great. I honestly feel guilty about not having to pay tution for a school this good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

Great staff, supportive learning environments, excellent after-school program and top-notch music and visual arts curricula and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

The PTA is a great asset to Hillrise Elementary. Without them it would be just average. My daughter attended Kindergarten last year. I think she graduated at 1st grade level. That is with the early help from my wife. Her teacher Miss. Abalos was exceptional for a freshman first grade teacher. Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students60%
Female62%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities60%
English Language Learner Current27%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female62%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities60%
English Language Learner Current64%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students66%
Female68%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities0%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female65%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities8%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities33%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students54%
Female57%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities20%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited20%

Reading

All Students68%
Female76%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities10%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 59%
White 32% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 South Curnutt St
Las Cruces, NM 88011
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 527-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT