Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Los Alamos Middle School 4

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of an 8th grader at LAMS and a high school aged child, who attended LAMS, I am giving this school 4 stars. I think that overall, LAMS is a good middle school. The school recently completed a large remodel. The students are in pods now, which gives them a safety circle. LAMS is, however, not without its problems. I feel that the LAMS teachers are good, with one exception: the math department. My older child had a pre-algebra teacher in 8th grade who spent almost the entire class having the students grade each other's homework from the previous day and then basically just assigned that days homework, with little to no instruction. My younger child's 7th grade math teacher also didn't teach. Instead, she had them watch videos/films that "taught" that day's lesson. Also, I feel that the PTO/PTA at LAMS is clique-ish. I attended every PTO meeting the year my older child was in 7th grade and at the end of the year, the board nominated new, incoming parents (who they had known at their elementary school). I found this insulting and clique-ish. A strong parent organization could really be an asset to LAMS, but it won't happen as it currently stands.

Los Alamos Middle School 2

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
Needs improvement! Some teachers openly admit they do not like kids. Academically substantial (average kids are insulted), athletics need more support, normal social issues for mid school. Music program is not friendly! Sex and Drugs are beginning to trickle in the 8th grade. 3 different VP's in 2.5 years. No other choice so good luck!


Los Alamos Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Los Alamos Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2009
- a student
This school is wondeful it has a wondeful staff that really wants to teach kids and not just recieve a paycheck! When school ended this year all the teachers gathered on the front steps of the school and waved to the students as the buses left the school! That is a staff that cares about their students!

Los Alamos Middle School 3

Posted October 17, 2008
- a parent
Things they are a changin.... The Los Alamos Middle School is a different place than it was fours years ago. The administration is new and there is a positive energy in the school community that did not exist previously. The staff is very committed to the students and are in a very tough place as the Elementary Schools think things are too tough and the High School think things are too easy. Being a bridge in a small community is difficult. Yes sometimes there are problems with PowerSchool, but at the same time teachers who do not fit the school's vision are asked to use their skills elsewhere. We should applaude our Middle School staff members as they teach one of the toughest ages in the educational system with a lot of grace. My son had a great time at Los Alamos Middle School!


Los Alamos Middle School 1

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended LAMS and barely made it through. Some of the teachers do not spend enough time with their students. They are not adept at using the PowerSchool software and I never knew what was going on with my daughters grades. Some teachers also expected too much from 11-14 year olds. LAMS staff need to be reminded that these children are not college students. They are adolescents, and should be treated as such. I am still helping my daughter (who is in 10th grade now) figure out that learning and school are fun. LAMS completely turned her against school. Thank goodness for Los Alamos High School. If you are thinking about moving to LA, wait until your child starts 9th grade.

Los Alamos Middle School 3

Posted August 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Los Alamos Middle School 1

Posted July 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Los Alamos Middle School 4

Posted March 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Los Alamos Middle School 1

Posted December 21, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Alamos Middle School
1 Hawk Dr, Los Alamos, NM  87544
(505) 663-2230
Last modified Los Alamos Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Los Alamos Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top