Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Placitas Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
I have to say, the test scores tell the real story. The scores are good, the teachers are great, and we are very happy with the school. I agree, if you have concerns, take them to the Governance Board!

Placitas Elementary School 1

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
Spamming the Review section with false misleading positive reviews is painful even when they are positve in nature. Get a grip parents even the positive ones are just as vindictive.


Placitas Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
I have a 4th grader and a Kindergartner at this school, and we love it. Placitas is a small community which lends to small class sizes, which lends nicely to attentive teachers. There's a wealth of activities for them to participate in, and I feel the principal and all the staff are very responsive and approachable. There's a great school spirit here, and I wouldn't have my kids go anywhere else. P.S. I'm not rich.

Placitas Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
The recent negative comments are very suspicious. As a parent of two kids at this school, I have to say these comments do not sound like the comments of any parents of children at this school. No school is perfect, but this is a good school. If a parent has a legitimate issue, they ought to raise it with the school's Governance Board (which includes parents, faculty and staff). Griping and making nasty (and apparently vindictive) comments in online reviews is simply not constructive.

Placitas Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
After a disappointing first few weeks I have to retract my earlier comments. The white wash that the school received is all just for show. This school was about to be closed 2 years ago because its segregationist and practically useless in our community as a whole. It was failing in all testing areas amongst other things. The building's facelift and rearranging of staff may have helped with some specific complaints by parents but the underlying message is that a few squeaky rich wheels get the grease. This is a doomed social project at tax payers expense.


Placitas Elementary School 1

Posted September 06, 2014
- a community member
Placitas elementary school in Placitas NM is the kind of school that you think of

Placitas Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Too remote and isolated. A country school with a one room feel. New building does not add to the value. No variety for the kids.

Placitas Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
The veracity of the comment regarding special needs students is questionable. The school's special education is managed by the district and they work hard to conform to the law. If there is a problem, that's where the blame belongs. All the special needs kids that I am aware of at Placitas Elementary are integrated into the normal classes. Some have specially assigned aides. This is a really good elementary school. My two kids love it and are making great progress.


Placitas Elementary School 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a community member
Special needs students have all been relegated to one classroom, violating federal standards on Least Restrictive Environment. Any school can do much better when/ir students who prove disruptive to other students are shuttled off into one classroom.

Placitas Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
As stated numerous times here, the school went through a major switch in teaching and administration. My son LOVES his school and is being challenged (FINALLY), he has been at PES from 1st grade and didn't learn anything from 1st to 2nd grade but has excelled greatly with the new teaching staff! I am so impressed that the Bernalillo School District was willing to do a major change and put in a new staff! Way to go - it was good to see our school system listen. Sorry to say that this type of positive influence doesn't extend to the middle school or high school in Bernalillo. The administration should think about an overhaul on those schools and then maybe kids that went to PES would go to the middle schools and high school and the school district would not lose them!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Placitas Elementary School
5 Calle Del Carbon, Placitas, NM  87043
(505) 867-2488
Last modified Placitas Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Placitas Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top