Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Portales High School 3

Posted June 09, 2016
- a community member
Less than average, but not bad. Other, smaller schools in the area may offer a more specialized experience.

Portales High School 4

Posted May 23, 2013
- a student
Most of the teachers are excellent, the principal is a good leader and is fair to the kids, the privilages that come with going to the school are fantastic, and switching to this school from Elida schools was the best decision I have ever made.


Portales High School 1

Posted August 11, 2011
- a parent
I also went to this school, as well I have graduated one child from PHS and have another in her Junior year. The entire Portales Public School System is overrun with favioratetism, preferencial treatment, and graft. The System is all about the System. We have not in 20 years had a sizable increese in class size yet we now have 2 principals at every school who rake in around $90k as well as 2 secetarys who WILL NOT take messages, deliver items to classrooms or anything else besides sit behind the desk and violate childrens HEPA rights. If you have a child that needs any help at all getting thru school this is not the district for you. I had a daughter who graduated at 16 with a 3.75, she did'nt need any help. We spend our IDEA money on 90k football buses around here, thats the Portales way. I picked the one star because there was'nt a negitive star choice. If you have special needs children do NOT come here, if you live here and your child is in need of special services call the state Public Education Department they have a Special Education department and they help.

Portales High School
no rating

Posted January 20, 2010
- a parent
I went to school here and have my son graduating next year. In my personal experience and with my son, this is a great school no matter what your child is interested in he/she will fit in this school offeres great academics opportunities as well as sports. Your child just has to want to do it....

Portales High School 1

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
My students were not even close to being prepared for college. PHS needs to concentrate more on academics and less on their dying football program


Portales High School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
I absolutley loved this school. I loved my friends, the teachers were awsome, and there was always someone there to help. For those who didnt think that Portaled High was a great school, apparently your kid or yourself wwasnt that popular!

Portales High School 5

Posted January 14, 2009
- a student
This is a very good school. The faculty in all departments are great, and all academic programs are top notch. As a bonus, this school allows dual enrollment with several local colleges for students who excel in certain areas. Several students graduate PHS as college Sophomores, due to this awesome programs. Athletics are also top notch, with some of the best teams in all sports. This school also boasts a top-notch band and choir, with regular all-state placing; the speech and debate team at PHS also excels, with several national qualifying members. Overall, this school is one of the best you could send your children to.

Portales High School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2007
- a student
I like this school alot. There are many different types of people here. So if your new here, your guaranteed to find someone that is like you. Some of the teachers are alright, some are plain out mean. The counselors are very nice and welcoming. One principal is rude, the other is nice.


Portales High School 2

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
This school is very lax in many things and academics is very favored. I personally would not put my child in this school unless you want them to accel in academics and not scolastics.

Portales High School 3

Posted May 31, 2006
- a student
The academic programs are average, offering opportunities in honors programs and academic decathlon. The school is primarily driven by sports, and is a powerhouse in girls athletics. Parent involvement is encouraged in this schoool.

Nearby schools

Portales High School
201 South Knoxville Ave, Portales, NM  88130
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (505) 356-7000
Last modified Portales High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top