Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rio Rancho Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2012

**Posted July 19, 2005 Report it I think they are very prejudice in this school. School is over crowded. Teachers do not pay attention to students concerns. They need to treat these kids like teenagers not adults. Submitted by a parent*** Things have not changed in the 11-12 school and new principal. BUT PARENTS NEED TO GET INVOLVED NOT JUST POINT FINGERS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

continued: in the students of 2008 minds the general population thought it was cool to bandi about phrases such as gangster. they tried to be what they weren't, and the children that actualy were in a gang never bragged about it. about half of the students did drugs. as soon as i left that school every day i was there, i started planning ways to kill myself. when i left the school and came to los alamos, i found what "state of the art technology" was. the shool had nothing and the computers were far outdated. the teachers, in my time there, were kind and aproachable, but they did nothing to actual rule breakers. i once saw a few students come out of the bathroom smelling of marajuana and the teacher just walked on by, but nearly every day students were taken to ISS for dress code violations. yes; i was an outcast, i knew more about pain and loss than several in that place and i wasn't cool, and i saw what a combonation of pain, drugs, and insanity can do to friends. RRMH was hell, and though i never "iced" myself i came close; not because of rrps, one teacher, one student or one time i saught respect and didnt get it, but because i was different and i was never given a real chance.


Posted December 19, 2008

I just love Rio Rancho Mid high. We moved to Rio Rancho from Las Vegas, NV. I have found thru the 6 years living here that teachers really do care about the success of our children's education. The teachers communicate with me on a weekly basis and really help my son do his best and be successful. I think this school is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

Continuation: School Busses can be overcrowded with 3 students to a seat. I ve also been impressed w/ the overall access to technology the school has available, including, daily quizzes that are done via remote controls in Math classes to being able to load money to my child s account on-line using mymealtime.com. Lastly I would like to add that the curriculum has been as challenging as that of the parochial school he was attending and due to the caring interaction of the teachers he is actually getting better grades and as a result and his self-esteem has skyrocketed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

As a parent who moved to New Mexico from Minnesota two years ago, my biggest concern was finding the best school for my daughter. After one year at Mountain View and one year at the Mid-High, I'm very satisfied with the Rio Rancho schools. Yes, there are teenagers who act out, (no big surprise), but I'm impressed with the security at the mid-high, the quality of the teachers, and the systems in place to keep communication with parents. Yes, the parents have to take the initiative to get the information, but that's the way it is. Yes, the school is too large, but the opening of the new high school in 2010 will mean smaller schools throughout the system, which will be great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

I disagree with alot of the reviews from parents. With one of them it said, 'people get into fights all the time and the security guards do nothing' which is partially true but the security guards do do something about it. 1. They break up the fight so nobody gets hurt. 2. They even escort the kids to there classes to get their stuff before they go to the office. 3. Most of them get either 3 days iss (in school suspension) or a day or two oss (out of school suspension). So its not like they think nothing of it because it happens so much. Pre-AP classes need to be more challenging. Even though i love mine, just because you make us do more papers doesnt mean your challening us. Just boring us, therefore we dont do it. Im totally looking forward to the new schedule next year though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2008

I am a student at the Rio Rancho Mid-High. I have a dislike of this school due to loud and EXTREMELY crowded arrogant hallways and students. About 40% of students at this school do drugs. Profanity is insane and uncontrollable. Disipline at the school is casual, however the administration reduces the sentence or bends the rules in some cases. Dress code violations are daily. In spite of the terrible behavior of the students, the teachers are amazing. Most teachers are easily approachable and accomadate students with different learning styles. I would have given this school four stars, but did not due to student behavior and the environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2007

RRMHS is a great school. I served in the Army and my children have attended schools all over the country. I have to say that RRMHS rates at the top. They provide a great learning environment and offer tutoring programs for all major core classes. I don't know if they have dances or other activities like that. They do need some help in the sports department. Last year they had over 140 teens playing 8th grade football. On several occasions games were cancelled without notice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

I am the step-father to 2 girls that have attended the mid-high. One is now in the high school but the other is in the ninth grade. My main concern is the dress code that has finally been altered. I do not believe that the way a child dresses should be a factor in the type of education that a child can get. It is not the clothes that make the child. What a child wears does not determine what type of student the child will become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

This school is extremely overcrowded. My child has had several classes where there is not enough books for all the students and teachers just dont seem to care or have time to help students in need. Even the counselors dont have time for students. I am very dissapointed with this school. New Mexico is failing its children by not putting more money into the education system and hiring more experienced teachers. There is a big discipline problem in this school as dress codes and policies are not enforced and the children seem to run the school. It is not a place where you can feel that your children are safe, even with security guards on duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2005

This is a great school as far as academics are concerned. The school has very high standards for their students which is great to see. They expect them to look presentable and be ready to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

Nice building but the entrance to the school is not safe at all not because of students but of the adults that think they can enter the wrong way and speed in the parking lot. Another problem is 'some' teachers do not teach in a manner that is effective and they will leave kids to fend on their own. Discipline of the dress code is a joke, plain and simple, how do I know? I see the kids every schoolday and most do not follow the rules. Another concern I have is the organization of school events that require a student to travel out of town, my child asked for yet never received the paperwork required to allow her to travel on the school bus to another town for a football event, the proper teachers totally dropped their responsibility. Eight grade is eight grade period. Involved parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

As a parent of five children, I find many of the comments from parents amusing and understandably self-centered (toward their child). Welcome to the 21st century. I would suggest that many of the negative comments are made by parents who have not spent a total of 30 minutes at the school other than when their student(s) are in trouble. I have found the staff to be extremely caring and dedicated to my child's welfare and education. Of course, my child is not in the principals office nor do we think our child is so special that the schools rules do not apply to them nor do we think it is the schools job to entertain our child nor compete with VH1. Try giving your child and your school the support they both deserve. You will be surprised.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2005

I think they are very prejudice in this school. School is over crowded. Teachers do not pay attention to students concerns. They need to treat these kids like teenagers not adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

My sons will not be attending the Mid-High. There are attacks on students by other students on a daily basis and nothing is being done to punish the offenders. Security guards blame the students who are the targets of this violence, often asking them, 'What did you do to make them hit you?' The gifted programs are not interesting to students, many say that they are bored in these gifted classes. The Mid-High was to be the 'crown jewel' of RRPS and instead it's a huge failure! 9th grade students are resentful of not being at the high school for their 'freshman' year and complain about having to be 'freshman' all over again when they get to the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2005

There is definitely a 'punish first, ask questions later' attitude in this school. However, I have seen a softening of this approach in this past year. I hope it continues. They have implemented a software program that allows the teachers to e-mail my child's grades on a weekly basis. This is excellent for keeping parents in the loop. I would like to see all schools in the district use this program. The extracurricular programs are excellent as well as their music and PE programs. The lanyards have become less of an issue. I do not know if there has been a policy change or if the kids are getting used to it. There is tremendous growth in this area which is placing a great deal of pressure on the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

This school is rated one of the highest in the state on state tests. They have implemented a credentialing process whereby teachers meet with parents and students once each semester. This seems to be a good process so that no child falls through the cracks. Teachers are very caring and strive hard to help students achieve success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

This is a new school that was built to relieve overcrowding at the 3 middle schools and the high school in the district. The principal is very harsh in his discipline even when unnecessary. He takes the zero tolerance approach and the attitude that all kids are delinquents. Lanyards were mandatory last year for all students. Any child who forgot it or lost it was placed in In-School-Suspension. It became and still is a game to some students to see if they can remove the lanyards of their peers without their peers knowledge to get them into trouble. This behavior is ignored. Missing lanyards, for any reason, is a punishable offense. Parents complained vociferously but were ignored. This is a relection of the attitude of this school and district. This school is also so crowded today that the kids do not have time to eat lunch in the time allowed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

387 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2010.

437 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students60%
Female62%
Male57%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Native American62%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities11%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited50%

Reading

All Students59%
Female66%
Male52%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Native American62%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities11%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students57%
Female59%
Male56%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Native American53%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities13%
English Language Learner Current17%
English Language Learner Exited62%

Reading

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Native American53%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities15%
English Language Learner Current17%
English Language Learner Exited62%

Science

All Students58%
Female56%
Male61%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Native American35%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities18%
English Language Learner Current22%
English Language Learner Exited52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students55%
Female59%
Male52%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Native American45%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities10%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited81%

Reading

All Students69%
Female72%
Male65%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Native American55%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities8%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 59%
White 42% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 10%
Black 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 40th St NE
Rio Rancho, NM 87144
Phone: (505) 896-0667

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lincoln Middle School
Rio Rancho, NM


Christian Life Academy
Rio Rancho, NM





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT