Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Thomas Aquinas School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rio Rancho

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $172,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

If you're looking for a great Catholic school with high academic standards and the best theology teacher in New Mexico, this is the school for you. VERY PLEASED.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

Great school! The academics at STA are top notch with no slacking aloud! St. Thomas is a school that will push your child academically to do their very best; your best is expected. All of the teachers and staff want the best for each student and work their hardest to help each child improve. I am currently a mid-schooler at STA and my math teacher told the class that when some of our eighth graders went to go and "shadow" students at high schools. Some of the students took at math test that the high school students had to take that day, and our eighth graders got a 100% on the math test! That proves that our academics are rigorous enough to prepare each student for high school and the future. With all of that said, I recommend that you and your student join the STAS family.


Posted April 8, 2014

St Thomas Aquinas is a great school academically for my kindergartner, and has instilled a genuine love of God in him. The only drawbacks are that there is WAY too much homework for a kindergartner. I know some parents that I've spoken with think that this sets the stage for academic success but I think it sets the stage for burnout! My son spends between 45 and 1 hour on homework per night and I hear it gets more intense as he will go into first grade. Plus, they are given two bathroom breaks before luncb, which is challenging for a 5 year old after lunchtime. More flexibility and freedom when it comes to art would be nice as well. But overall really good school led by teachers who really seem to care. They also seem to be on the lookout for hitting, being rude to other children, etc which is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

St. Thomas Aquinas School is a positive place to learn and grow. We have two children who both attended STA and loved it. The teachers are positive and are there for you and your child. There is great opportunity to be part of your childs day volunteering during their art, computer or library time. Throughout the school year there is opportunity to volunteer in your child's class also. Sr. Anne is a great presence at STA. She is always there to listen to how your child is doing and of any concerns. Sr. Anne along with the staff is in the best interst of your child. We dropped off our children in the morning happy to go to school and picked them up excited about the day they had and what they had learned. Your child will grow in his love of God and school at STA. If you are looking for quality catholic education STA is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

Not much to add that hasn't been said already. If you are looking for a school that has strong academics, that makes you and your child feel welcome and cared about, and is just an overall safe place- then this is the school to go to! There is no comparison to public schools- this school teaches and at a very high standard. This school has expectations of the students which is lacking in every public school in Rio Rancho and Albuquerque. There are not as many after school activities or sports as I would like but what my child gets in education and becoming a well rounded, caring, loving, responsible person is way worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2012

St. Thomas Aquinas School is the best school in the whole world! I can't believe that there is people who apparently don't think that. Also, for those of you that think that are math program is behind, you are very wrong. The math class in the middle school is great! Our math teacher is amazing. One time he told us that in public school they never stop. If you don't understand, well they don't care because they will just go on to the next thing. Our math teacher, however, will take the time to explain everything, and if even just one person doesn't understand it, he will take the time to explain it again. Also our principal is not a bad one or a dictator. She cares for us a lot. She treats us like her own children. She makes you follow the rules and if you don't, she will discipline you. If you don't like that then I guess that public school is the place for you...the place where yo can mess around and not be prepared for the real world.


Posted September 13, 2012

I love this school i just switched schools from a public school to this one and it has been great! The teachers are entergentic and fun!! I have been getting a better education i struggled with doing my homework at the being of the year but they have lightend the load so thats nice. You will love this school everyone is super friendly.


Posted May 17, 2011

This school has received many awards for excellence in academics and students have received high awards in science projects as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

The administration and a whole lot of the students will make you question whether or not this is a school founded on Christian principles. I had to remove my daughter because she was being bullied mercilesly by a group of "mean girls". The principal just seemed unable or unwilling to do anything to stop it. It's sad because it's the only Catholic school in RR. We ended up driving miles away from home to attend another Catholic school where she is much happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Although the academics at this school are good. The unsaid don't ask don't say policy is a great enviroment for bullies. as a result of this we withdrew our daughter toward the end of 8th grade year. Not what you would expect from a Catholic school. Very disappointed..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

My child started at STA the year it opened in 2000. He had excellent teachers from beginning. He graduated from STA at the top of his class, continued on to private high school and graduated in the top 20 of his senior class. The STA teachers definitely prepared him for the college prep high school. The language arts/literature faculty were especially talented as teachers. While the academics are exceptional, the best part of STA is its Christ-centered environment. I will always be grateful to the administration, faculty, and staff for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

I am a student here and this is my 7th year here. We have wonderful teachers and many great kids. It is such a friendly school. I totally want every child to try this school. Please!


Posted May 8, 2010

I'm a former graduate of St. Thomas Aquinas, while i was there i enjoyed it. However, our principlal was Sr. Mary, a most loving and caring principal. My brother however, has suffered under the iron fist dictatorship of a new principal, a very uncaring and unsupportive person who shows no sympathy for anyone but oneself. My brother was miserable and often misbehaved to try and have some fun in the fascist environment. The school has changed drastically from when i was there and its a big dissappointment. I do not recommend this school at all, which is unfortunate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2009

If you want a 'anything goes' atmosphere, this shcool is not for you. Unfortunately, parents let their children run the show at home and then come to this school and don't like the disipline. Yes the teachers and principal have high expectations, but that is what makes it such a great school. It is amazing how students can rise to the level expected! The academics and faith are wonderful.


Posted September 11, 2008

These reviews are ridiculous! The staff at this school is very unprofessional. My children were miserable at this school and I'm so glad we're gone! Very strict and way behind in every subject especially math. Sad that I actually paid for this. Luckily we found a much better school. Actually, anything is better than St. Thomas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

My daughter has attended St Thomas for 3 years. I am not a catholic and believe that I have made a wonderful choice for my daughter. The staff is very receptive and helpful in every way! Her peers are not perfect but the children show some reserve and try not to be mean sprited to each other. A far cry from public school. They are learning self discipline, getting a great education and they are doing it in a christ focused environment. I find it hard to believe that anyone would have a mean word to say about this school. Thanks St. Thomas for helping me raise my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

I am a graduate of St. Thomas Aquinas School. My last year of school here, I could not wait to get out, but I quickly learned how lucky and fortunate I was to be able to attend such an amazing school. Here, I was able to truly learn about my faith in all aspects. This is, by far, the thing which I am most grateful for. Academics for me were not as challenging as they were for others, but for the most part, they prepared me for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

Excellent School! Academics are excellent and above average in all areas. You must come to an open house to see how well the children are doing in all areas as well as experience a truly Catholic School. As for the negative comments, please take them with a grain of salt....it appears that a group of disgruntled parents got together and decided to bad mouth this school on the same day. This is a beautiful, loving environment that teaches our children about the love of God, respect for self and others, and also provides the necessary discipline that many children are lacking in this world today. I encourage you to visit this wonderful school and give your child an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

My son and daughter both attend St. Thomas and we feel very blessed to be a part of such a wonderful Catholic Community with wonderful teachers and staff. My kids come home everyday excited about what they have learned and about the wonderful friendships they have developed. I don't quite understand some of the comments as I have never had issues with getting involved in classroom activities, in fact, the school welcomes parent involvement in all areas. It's up the the parents to get involved if they really want to...the opportunities are there. Both of my kids are excelling in their school work and I credit this to the teachers and their open & continual communication that keeps me informed of my children's progress. I recommend that you tour the school, speak to other parents & faculty and judge for yourself rather than taking some of these comments as fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

We are a military family and this is our daughter's 4th Catholic Elementary school in 8 years, and STAS is hands down the best of the four! We credit this to the Sisters of St. Lucy Filippini who bring a faith-centered approach that envelopes all things about the school. Academics are challenging and extra-curricular activities are good for a small parochial school. Discipline and self responsibility are important values distilled on these children at an early age. On the few occasions we've had any sort of issues we took them directly to the teacher or principal and have left 100% satisfied -- maybe some of the parents who left such negative comments on here should have done the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 59%
White 33% 26%
Two or more races 13% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Santa Fe
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Hood Road Southeast
Rio Rancho, NM 87124
Phone: (505) 994-3369

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Christian Life Academy
Rio Rancho, NM




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT