Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

V Sue Cleveland High School

Public | 9-12 | 2223 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

I have two boys here in 9th and 10th grade. They say that the teachers at Cleveland care about the kids (I have seen this) and they enjoy going to school. My younger son is in ROTC and and band and loves both. They offer a lot of school clubs, school sports, and other things. It's a safe, challenging, and fun school which I believe is what a school should be. I grew up in a nice high school in Michigan but Cleveland is way better than my school in making the kids feel comfortable and keeping the freshmen away from the juniors and seniors. It has 3 floors with the freshman mostly on the first floor, the sophomores mostly on the 2nd (some on the first), and the juniors and seniors are on the 3rd floor. Classes for freshman are in a pod where they can learn the layout without stressing. The principal is a great leader and wants 100% graduation and the kids to be involved. I don't have to visit it much but the times I have been there I find it to be a nice, respectful and fun school where kids can learn and thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

The communication level is ZERO. We were at this school 2 1/2 years and out of few times I called and left messages for various staff members, not ONE SINGLE time did I ever receive a call back. Not one. I always had to make a trip to the school to actually get a response. This was event coordinators, athletic department, prom coordinators, and once, even the principals office. There are a few teachers in Cleveland that are superior, but I think more of them get lost in the masses. I understand they are a newer school and are still trying to figure out the learning curve, but for example, high school graduation you are not allowed to bring in any kind of photo's or posters to congratulate your child while walking across the stage? They are not allowed to "toss" their caps, they are not allowed to cheer too loud...come on now. This is a once in a life time event for these students. Lighten up a little staff. Not so welcoming to new parents that want to be involved. Good things: new school and facility, front desk secretaries are outstanding at their job, great sports teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

My son has just started as a freshman at this school and we have been quite pleased. The facility is top notch, the way the classes are organized by floors (freshman on the bottom, sophomores on the 2nd floor and juniors and seniors on the top) has really eased the transition. My son loves his teachers and finds they are creative in teaching the material to keep it fun and engaging. I will say, he attended the Cyber Academy before attending here and now the curriculum is all review for him- it's pretty easy and he is getting 95-110 on everything. Fortunately, they offer a LOT of AP classes, and he is really enjoying having engineering offered to freshmen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

I am very surprised with the low reviews. My daughter is a freshman there and I always find the staff helpful. It is all in the ATTITUDE you give as to what you get. I do observations at schools all over Rio Rancho and especially the high schools and have never had an issue. It can be a bit unorganized but with only 2 high schools for all of these kids it can be overwhelming for the staff as well. And remember these are teenagers they are dealing with!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

Very unorganized and chaotic. The communication and planning is terrible and all information is received at the last possible minute through rumors and word of mouth. I graduated from here and am still dealing with them because they can't seem to get it together. The staff was, and still is, very rude to me whenever I need something. The only way I can get them to help me is to have a parent call or to have another teacher talk to the person I needed. This made preparing for graduation and college very frustrating.There were a select few that I could count on when it came to the staff and if it weren't for them I would have never received any help from the rest of them. Also, most of the staff are snobs and have no respect for their students. I was a good kid, got good grades and was very respectful and responsible but was treated like garbage. This school only cares about it's athletes and pushes all the other students under the rug. They definitely play favorites at this school and if your not a favorite, then good luck getting any kind of help or support as a student! They reward laziness, bad behavior and students who are "popular".


Posted September 30, 2011

Cleveland was great for my son who transfered in from a DoDDS school. It was on level and the teachers challenged him but also allowed him to develop his strengths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

I rate this school a one star because we were very unhappy with the staff, yes this is a great looking NEW sch, but the staff is the worst I have ever seen, unorganized, and none supportive, at the beginning of the sch year (2010/11) my child told me that lots of Sr. were getting kicked out of sch (approx. 30-50) because they did not have enough credits, instead of helping these kids get on track, they kicked them out. Knowing NM is rated 48 out of 50 states as the worst graduations rates in the US. My child was a Jr and was 17ys, I was told my child was going to be bumped to a Sr. because of his age and that he needed to leave the sch because now he was short credits for grad (wow crazy). They told him to get his GED or attend an alternative sch, my thoughts are that they want to be in good standings in the grad rate, so if any Sr. will affect that, they are out, SO SAD, this seems like disrespect for the students/parents as well as the sch, I am sure there are lots of positives, but this was our horrible experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

I am surprised at the low ratings. My daughter was a freshman last year and we love this school. I will say there are issues, like for instance how they had rotating subs for an AP level course, but when I complained, they were very quick to respond and did fix the problem by finding a certified teacher as a long term sub. As a side note too, RRPS is probably the only school district in the ABQ area to offer AP courses at the freshman level. For the person who commented that sports is the focus at this school, I don't get that. They do excel at sports, however, not at the detriment of anything else. For instance, the booster clubs provide a ton of things the school does not, but also, my daughter plays soccer and school is the first focus. They have a stricter set of rules than the school district even has. No grades lower than a C allowed, no matter what your GPA is. This is an excellent school with teachers who do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

Don't let the 10 rating fool you, this is a beautiful building, state of art paid for by your taxes and future generations. Its the same old staff problem, who could care less about the kids, don't know whats going on most of the time, and there's no follow-up on ANYTHING. If you complain or try to light a match to get them to do their jobs, they get mad at you, and cover themselves so it looked like they actually did something. The bullying and the ignorance of the staff about such matters is unbelievable at times. I asked six times for the bullying policy until finally got it. My son was put on the internet, called names, threatened, etc. The principal is useless, why they keep hiring coaches, well sports is the ultimate focus at this school. and everyone knows it. Registration is long and grueling, they use a computer for everything except this. You stand in line for hours at a time. My daughter is in special ed., scared to dealth to go back there, and there was no bus assigned to her at rregistration, and I called last week and guess what no surprise, but no phone call back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

The school received 3 stars from me because is new, and has multiple courses for the students to choose from. But only 3 stars because the security in the school due to fights and video postings of fihts are getting out of hand. All this from a school with more than 5 security guards and 2-3 contracted police officers! Any complaints or suggestions fall on deaf ears when it comes to the VP's and especially the Principals. Even a suggestion to raise parking space rental fees a little to cover additional costs for anything that can improve security for the students was shot down, apparently they only want to get funds from the taxes and NOT be proactive and charge a little more for the convenience of the parking spaces. In fact what I was told is the charge for parking just barely if at all covers maintenance for the parking lots, very poorly managed! They have security guards directing traffic as opposed to doing what their supposed to which is protecting the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

This school has an abysmal music program that does not challenge or teach students. The music director so far has demonstrated extremely poor planning and teaching skills and seems to make decisions on the fly without bothering to see how such decisions might affect others. Additionally, the administration seems unable to comprehend that some families only have one vehicle and schedule things at the most inconvenient times possible, for example graduation tickets are only available from 1:30-3:30PM. I don't know about others, but I work in Albuquerque and work until 4:00PM which makes getting our family's tickets all but impossible. This is why I have rated this school at 1 star, they should look at the DoDDS schools to see how it's done right. Shiny new facilities are great, but we need to ensure that some of the budget is reserved to pay for the required texts students will need for their classes instead of begging parents to pay additional fees to support this poorly managed behemoth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

V. Sue Cleveland is a phenomenal school with an amazing althletics and music programs. Teachers are devoted with few exceptions, and the curriculum includes challenging coursework in AP and honors levels. The school's new construction provides top-notch learning facilities as well as being in district boundaries that have safe and affordable living mixed with high end homes. My daughter has thoroughly enjoyed and thrived while a student at this high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

Its another school with red tape. If your child need special services you will pull teeth to get ANY testing done. Put your request in writing, simply asking is a way for them to dimiss it entirely. An Engligh teacher who used to be a previous spec ed teacher is a teacher who loves kids that do their work and anything beyond on that when your child struggles your child is automatically on the no guidance and LABELED as a troubled child. Myself along with other parents have tried to find a middle groud to get assistance, she refused to help. This teacher has put her hands on students before grabbing them accusing them of theft. There should be a protocol to follow yet any report to the principal falls on deaf ears. I pray they no longer make hurdles for children who need special services. It was a sad situation with no help, more arguing than anything. What needs to change is the notion of special services=troubled children and why bother. It was an impression. So if you choose this school make sure you know your rights....study them. I am sure there are some good teachers, this was are unfortunate experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

619 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

618 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

545 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

545 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 40% in 2013.

544 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students49%
Female47%
Male52%
African American44%
Asian60%
Hispanic40%
Native American46%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities11%
English Language Learner Current8%
English Language Learner Exited38%

Reading

All Students68%
Female73%
Male63%
African American68%
Asian75%
Hispanic63%
Native American38%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities27%
English Language Learner Current23%
English Language Learner Exited47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
African American60%
Asian79%
Hispanic57%
Native American68%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities20%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited41%

Reading

All Students78%
Female84%
Male73%
African American70%
Asian79%
Hispanic74%
Native American79%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities29%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited65%

Science

All Students72%
Female71%
Male73%
African American60%
Asian64%
Hispanic63%
Native American61%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities29%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2011.

477 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

477 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2011.

477 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 47% in 2011.

477 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students49%
Female48%
Male51%
African American28%
Asian46%
Hispanic44%
Native American63%
White56%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners0%

Reading

All Students61%
Female68%
Male54%
African American32%
Asian64%
Hispanic56%
Native American56%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners8%

Science

All Students57%
Female51%
Male63%
African American32%
Asian64%
Hispanic51%
Native American50%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners0%

Social Studies

All Students67%
Female64%
Male70%
African American56%
Asian82%
Hispanic59%
Native American63%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learners0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 26%
Hispanic 42% 59%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 10%
Black 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4800 Laban Rd NE
Rio Rancho, NM 87144
Phone: (505) 938-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rio Rancho High School
Rio Rancho, NM



Sandia View Academy
Corrales, NM



The Ask Academy
Rio Rancho, NM


Bernalillo High School
Bernalillo, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT