Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

133 students|The Ask Academy
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Ask Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
The one teacher who answers my emails. There are several adults who never respond to emails or concerns.

The Ask Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
There's a big range in teacher effectiveness. It is obvious which adults are actually teachers and which are tradespeople/field experts who have taken teaching jobs. Some of them clearly do not like kids.


The Ask Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
The homework is ok, but some of the reading assignments are not such that should be read without a seminar discussion. They are too difficult for high schoolers to digest and comprehend on their own.

The Ask Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
I don't really know what this means in public schools anymore. The curriculum is too narrow to develop persistence in many students. Kids who go to ASK either like STEM curriculum or are not welcomed and exit.

The Ask Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
ASK is too authoritarian in its attitude towards students to develop any genuine respectful attitudes in young people.


The Ask Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
Have seen no community service; social consciousness; my child has reported a lot of casual racism and prejudice among the students.

The Ask Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
Issues of character are not addressed at all. Only a select few students are included in the big, fun projects; the rest are filler as long as their standardized test scores are good.

The Ask Academy 2

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
The adults at ASK seem to be more interested in their reputation with the PED and in hosting the governor and Skandera than the academic success of their students. All they want from students is good standardized test scores and if they need any extra support or have IEP goals, they are just a bother. ASK is very cliquey and only a small number of kids are included in the big, fun learning activities. Students eat outside in the dirt; expensive uniform slacks are newly required from a specific vendor instead of just enforcing the existing dress code; the humanities are sorely neglected and undervalued; there is no music or art; PE is a joke; staff turnover is unusually high...


The Ask Academy 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a student
This school provides a great fun, interactive, engaging, and concise learning experience. I would recommend this school above all others.

The Ask Academy 5

Posted September 16, 2015
- a student
As a senior now at the ASK Academy I am very proud to say that this is without a doubt one of the best high schools in the state. I chose the engineering pathway and have loved it! Just recently in my aerospace class we have designed fully functional wind tunnels that the school is funding. This project has required use in CAD Design, multiple levels of math, time scheduling, and budgeting, all of these are skills that have been learned through throughout our high school career. In my years at the school I have also helped 3D Print out prototypes for personal projects, school projects, and research projects for Sandia National Labs! Another great thing about the 3D Printing department of the school is that it is all student led, the engineering project manager oversees the overall operation however all prints go through the scholars in that department. Through this school I am also on my way to patenting my very own design that I have spent three of my four years designing. The ASK Academy has also won two state championships in the VEX Robotics and have gone onto national and world competitions. I have also learned how to use peer reviews articles to write literature reviews and research papers similar to that in college. Keep in mind, I have barely scraped the surface of the engineering pathway, there is still the entire bio-medical pathway that has its great teachers and projects. Overall if you are looking into this school and want to decide off of these reviews, go off of the scholar reviews, we are the ones who have been to the school and experience it everyday throughout the school year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Ask Academy
4311 Sara Rd, Rio Rancho, NM  87124
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (505) 891-0757
Last modified The Ask Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 9-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top