Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rio Rancho Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
My son being bullies threw kindergarten, being hit in the face by a child who has family members that work for the school and nothing is being done, it's total discrimination.

Rio Rancho Elementary School 1

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
This is my chids first year and it has been nothing but drama, first a bullying double standard with a child who has family that works for the school. My child has been hit in the face multiple times by the same child and all the principal says is its getting taken care of. We ate not even done with the first semester and I feel like I'm not welcome at the school and constantly being disriminated. I'm a very involved parent part of the PTA and volunteer as much as they let me but I still feel the looks and negativity maybe because I am a young tattooed mother. It's Terrible we have lived here for years and this school is going down the drain. Having axiety about my child going to school it not okay.


Rio Rancho Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
They lie to parents constantly and are always protecting teachers that have no business being in a classroom, they even protect teachers who let felons in the back door during school hours.

Rio Rancho Elementary School 1

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
The administration at this school is completely unprepared for the job of educating children and leading adults. The director of special education is about the most incompetent employee on campus and has been for 15 years, she is more concerned with protecting her friends who literally abuse children than helping to educate kids. This was a once a great school with a community feel, then the principal retired and the assistant principal was passed over so she moved on and is now running a great middle school. Pass on this school and soon, pass on this district.

Rio Rancho Elementary School 4

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been attending this school for the past four years, and while no school is perfect, it has been a good experience for us. What I have experienced is that the teachers are mostly very caring, and if there are any missteps, the principal and vice principal are very quick to address any concerns. In my opinion, a successful school happens when parents are involved with what their kids are doing, and are involved in their child's school. What I have noticed is the vast majority of parents are waiting for someone else to start that after school club, someone else's dad to be a watch dog (playground presence to curtail bullying), or someone else's mom to help the PTA. If you really want an awesome school, you are part of making that happen. You can "chase" the best schools in any school district, but those best schools were created by parents who took the time (even small chunks) to make their school great.


Rio Rancho Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
This is an awful school, a lot of communication break downs, inconsistencies, double standards, and zero accountability. The bullying is horrendous, the children are not very safe safety guidelines are not enforced there are children on campus as early as 8:00 AM with no supervision and while this also is an issue with the parents, nothing is said or done about it. You can never get a strait answer for anything it seems the teachers don't look happy to be there it's overall a piss poor environment and an awful place to send your child. I switched my kids as fast as possible with no looking back. Spare yourself the headache and choose another school.

Rio Rancho Elementary School 2

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
I have had three kids attend this school and my last one will not go here. The bullying at this school is ridiculous, although with the new principal and assistant principal it does seem a bit better. The old principal did not give a hoot about the bullying problems within her school. The majority of the teachers that were amazing at this school have left and been replaced with teachers that could care less about actually teaching their students but rather how high their test scores can be. If your child has a learning disability and cannot test very well forget it. There is limited help and they will just keep pushing your kid along until you intervene. Unfortunately most parents do not intervene which doesn't help with the bigger problem. If you do not put in a 100% effort at home helping your child along the way they will get lost in the shuffle at this school. The after school activities stink and there is only two to choose from while the other elementary schools in Rio Rancho have lots to choose from. This school needs some serious help. It used to be halfway decent with small classes and great staff but has since been replaced with the bottom of the barrel.

Rio Rancho Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
Horrible, horrible, horrible!!!!!!! They started to alow my daughter to fall through the cracks and not help when she began I all back on certain subjects. Her teacher was very unhelpful and condescending. No help from other educators. Had to switch schools.


Rio Rancho Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Our experience here is just dreadful. Teachers seem uninterested and oblivious to the problems. Bullying is out of hand here. Children are very poorly supervised and that in turn contributes to the bullying problem. There is a lack of true care and concern for children from teachers and staff. It is much more babysitting than any academics. My child is not learning anything at all.

Rio Rancho Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
I do not recommend this school. Bullying is a problem and is not addressed even when you complain about it. Some teachers are completely blind to what is happening in their own classrooms and in fact discourage kids from reporting bullying. We moved cross country for work and chose Rio Rancho for the "best" schools in the area. We were severely disappointed. We moved our son to private school this year and he is so much happier and in one week has learned more than he did in months at this school. Do not send your kids here!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rio Rancho Elementary School
4601 Pepe Ortiz SE, Rio Rancho, NM  87124
(505) 896-0667
Last modified Rio Rancho Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rio Rancho Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top