Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Rio Rancho, NM
Students enrolled: 814

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 1

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
This school seems to be very disorganized. Has been the worst experience I could of dreamed of out of a school for my child. If you have the ability to send your child to a different school, do it! School is extremely behind academically.

Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 2

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
In the not quite a month that my child has been in 1st grade here I am extremely concerned in the lack of challenge of material they are teaching the students. My child first of all gets no homework which doesn't bother me so much as to what he tells me he is learning whereas even though I see his teacher everyday she still doesn't bother to tell me exactly what they are learning. According to my child what he is "learning" is what he knew prior to even starting kindergarten. It's a good thing I work with my child every day after school and on weekends for a couple of hours, I feel sorry for the parents of the children and the children themselves whose parents aren't able to do so because this school is definitely setting them up for failure. If we weren't going to move out of state shortly I would 100% be changing my child's school. The only reason I'm giving 2 stars is because I'm hoping things will pick up very soon...fingers crossed x. While most of the people I have encountered that work here are very nice, nice just doesn't give me hope that they are teaching my child new things.


Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My son kindergarten teacher was excellent in giving my son confidence, because my son suffers from ADHD.

Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 1

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
My experience at this school was not pleasant. Leadership at this school lacks integrity and professionalism. When I had a concern with my daughters teacher, the principal and teacher did not follow procedures detailed in the student handbook for a classroom change. I felt bullied.

Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a community member
The care and concern for their students. I have 3 nieces and 2 are currently attending. The third one is feeling a little left out since she is not going yet.


Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
I love the open communication they have between parents as well as the teachers. I love the programs they offer, i love the teachers we have. love the spirit we share, the positive attitude Everyone Welcome to Puesta Del Sol, where you feel important and just like home!!!!!!!!!!!!

Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2006
- a parent
Puesta del Sol is one of the greatest schools we have been a part of. With five children and having lived all over the state of NM, Rio Rancho public school district is the best in the state. Our youngest child is currently attending puesta del sol elementary. He was born with down syndrome and has been fully included in the most wonderful multi-age classroom. Surrounded with wonderful learning opportunities and the most incredibly gifted teacher. She believes in him and he believes in himself. He is in the 2nd grade, has down syndrome and is reading! He loves his school and his after school safe program and so do we. This school is very highly recommended. Your child will be challenged and be a part of his/her community.

Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2006
- a parent
My son has since graduated Puesta along with his cousins, but I am still impressed. Chiles was an exceptional after-school program, and the PTO is well-organized and put together some excellent events through the years. It was easy to bond with the other parents and really become a community. In addition, the school recognized some exceptional abilities in my son and put the wheels into motion that enabled him to begin a gifted program at the middle school level. He enjoyed after school choir and karate, and Chiles trips to the River of Lights. We enjoyed Donuts for Dads, Muffins for Moms, and all the get-togethers and fundraisers arranged by the PTO. The parent conferences were informative and helpful, and it was apparent that the teachers care about the students and acknowledge the need for parent involvement.


Puesta Del Sol Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2004
- a parent
Puesta is a very 'out of the box' type of school. My son was reading by winter break in kindergarten...I don't remember doing that in kindergarten but the kids seemed to handle it just fine. My son will now be in the third grade and I couldn't be happier with his teacher. Since he has gone here, my belief has become that if you make it interesting enough, the kids will get it and they will not struggle. The teachers here push the kids and challenge them without completely overwhelming them. I love the fact that they have a uniform code in effect in all of the RR schools; it makes it so easy to pick-out what to wear in the morning and the kids look good. I recommend the RR public school system to all of my friends and especially love Puesta.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Puesta Del Sol Elementary School
450 Southern Blvd, Rio Rancho, NM  87124
(505) 896-0667
Last modified Puesta Del Sol Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Puesta Del Sol Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top