Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Martin King Jr Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

My son moved from another school in the district (which was a horrible start to his public school experience... kindergarten was a nightmare) as he began first grade. What a difference a good teacher makes. I am very impressed with the staff thus far and am looking forward to more growth as we start 3rd grade. My son has some behavioral obstacles and every few months we get closer to figuring out the best ways to overcome them... hopefully this year they are snuffed out permanently... thanks in great part to the efforts of the MLK staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I was immediately dissatisfied with the entire staff. The general attitude was negative, from the office to the principal to the teachers. There was more willingness to criticize and punish my children than there was to assist them in resolving their issues. My children never has behavior issues until they got to MLK. My daughter, who had always been enthusiastic about school no longer wants to go. Her self esteem has plummeted in the three months she has been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2012

My daughter is in 2nd grade at MLK and has gone here since she was in kindergarten. I have loved all her teachers; they helped get her the help that she had needed for her reading. I also loved both of her reading teachers and the reading program. They even offered us help with some family problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

My daughter attended first grade here and we loved the school. The office staff was very welcoming, her teacher was supportive and implemented parental suggestions. There was a great deal of parental support throughout the school year. I was pleased with my daughter's 1st grade experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

The teachers and staff really seem to care about the children and their futures. There are some great teachers there that have taken the time to encourage these children to learn and explore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

MLK is the best elementary school ever! The teachers are fabulous, and they ensure that every student has the tools to ensure that they are able to learn! My son's 2nd grade teacher tweaked the curriculum to ensure that he was able to learn math, and now it's his favorite subject! Thank you MLK for everything you do for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

Both of my children went to MLK and they both loved it. All the teachers they had were all wonderful. wish all schools could be this good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

Martin Luther King Elementary School is wonderful. Coming from another State where schools are overcrowded and programs are basically non-existant, I found MLK a breath of fresh air. They basically saved my daughter and her education. The Principal makes a school and this one has the best. Also - the teachers care, are high quality and work together as teams. If a child fails at MLK it is due to lack of parental involvement and support - not the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

What a refreshing change from schools in SLC, Utah. My child's fourth grade teacher was a perfect fit for her. The other fourth grade teachers were also caring and supportive. The school and its administration is responsive and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

I would have to say overall the school is great. The administation is very supportive. My only concern is with second grade. We experienced an outstanding 1rst grade year and hoped for that in second grade. The first grade teachers were very supportive and caring. My child learned a lot. The 2nd grade is far from that. Eveything we gained in 1rst grade is now gone. The teacher is not at all supportive and is very unwilling to help her students. As a parent, I have to say I am very disappointed with the second grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

149 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

144 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students56%
Female48%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities29%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female70%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities43%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students59%
Female57%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Native American40%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities24%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female71%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Native American60%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities18%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female77%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Native American50%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities41%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students68%
Female71%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Native American91%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities25%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female77%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Native American82%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities8%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 59%
White 42% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Black 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1301 27th St SE
Rio Rancho, NM 87124
Phone: (505) 896-0667

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT