Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Martin King Jr Elementary School 4

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
My son moved from another school in the district (which was a horrible start to his public school experience... kindergarten was a nightmare) as he began first grade. What a difference a good teacher makes. I am very impressed with the staff thus far and am looking forward to more growth as we start 3rd grade. My son has some behavioral obstacles and every few months we get closer to figuring out the best ways to overcome them... hopefully this year they are snuffed out permanently... thanks in great part to the efforts of the MLK staff!

Martin King Jr Elementary School 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
I was immediately dissatisfied with the entire staff. The general attitude was negative, from the office to the principal to the teachers. There was more willingness to criticize and punish my children than there was to assist them in resolving their issues. My children never has behavior issues until they got to MLK. My daughter, who had always been enthusiastic about school no longer wants to go. Her self esteem has plummeted in the three months she has been there.


Martin King Jr Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is in 2nd grade at MLK and has gone here since she was in kindergarten. I have loved all her teachers; they helped get her the help that she had needed for her reading. I also loved both of her reading teachers and the reading program. They even offered us help with some family problems.

Martin King Jr Elementary School 4

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended first grade here and we loved the school. The office staff was very welcoming, her teacher was supportive and implemented parental suggestions. There was a great deal of parental support throughout the school year. I was pleased with my daughter's 1st grade experience.

Martin King Jr Elementary School 4

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and staff really seem to care about the children and their futures. There are some great teachers there that have taken the time to encourage these children to learn and explore.


Martin King Jr Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
MLK is the best elementary school ever! The teachers are fabulous, and they ensure that every student has the tools to ensure that they are able to learn! My son's 2nd grade teacher tweaked the curriculum to ensure that he was able to learn math, and now it's his favorite subject! Thank you MLK for everything you do for my kids!

Martin King Jr Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 11, 2008
- a parent
Both of my children went to MLK and they both loved it. All the teachers they had were all wonderful. wish all schools could be this good

Martin King Jr Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2007
- a parent
Martin Luther King Elementary School is wonderful. Coming from another State where schools are overcrowded and programs are basically non-existant, I found MLK a breath of fresh air. They basically saved my daughter and her education. The Principal makes a school and this one has the best. Also - the teachers care, are high quality and work together as teams. If a child fails at MLK it is due to lack of parental involvement and support - not the school.


Martin King Jr Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2006
- a parent
What a refreshing change from schools in SLC, Utah. My child's fourth grade teacher was a perfect fit for her. The other fourth grade teachers were also caring and supportive. The school and its administration is responsive and caring.

Martin King Jr Elementary School 4

Posted April 10, 2005
- a parent
I would have to say overall the school is great. The administation is very supportive. My only concern is with second grade. We experienced an outstanding 1rst grade year and hoped for that in second grade. The first grade teachers were very supportive and caring. My child learned a lot. The 2nd grade is far from that. Eveything we gained in 1rst grade is now gone. The teacher is not at all supportive and is very unwilling to help her students. As a parent, I have to say I am very disappointed with the second grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin King Jr Elementary School
1301 27th St SE, Rio Rancho, NM  87124
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (505) 896-0667
Last modified Martin King Jr Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top