Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 866 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

I agree with the last two reviews. MVMS is the third RRPS school that I have had children attend. Many, but not all, staff members I've encountered have been too defensive, too quick. MVMS seems to utilize this approach as their standard protocol. Some of the administrative staff are unpleasant and the principal is proficient at being condescending and saccharine sweet at once. This may sound harsh but is the opinion of many. I also agree with the post about the well overused line about 900 students etc. We parents too are burning our candles at both ends; please stop complaining, your students preparedness and social-economic status is much better than the NM average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

The staff is rude & dismissive and their first instinct is to be defensive. There's a reason for why people become instinctively defensive and it's not because good things are happening. Communication is terrible and only a small fraction of the teachers seems to care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2013

I'm a parent of a 3.85 GPA student. MVMS is safe and clean. Most kids attending are middle/upper middle class and prepared to learn. The problem is w/administration, starting at the top. My one/only interaction w/the principal was down right rude. At first I thought she had mistaken me for someone she knew by her actions when in fact having never met/spoke to her. I didn't even know she was the principal until I asked her who she was after she made a snide/unprofessional comment within the first 10 secs. of meeting. She, along with many teachers are quick to mention they have 900 students to deal with. Really, most professionals are in the same boast, we get it, don't use it as a crutch. Also, many teachers are quick to point out that class work/communications are available online (this phrase is used as though it's their collective first line of "defense"). However, good luck sorting through all the different online classroom page layouts and getting access to online progress updates. Not an easy endeavor. Parents need concise, uniformed data. We know of a number of kids who have transferred out due to staff indifference. Overall, OK school but warrants 3 stars realistically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2012

I moved here from Dallas, Texas and went to eagle ridge. I didn't like eagle ridge because they have a bad academic and discipline program so I transferred to mountain view and it's the closest middle school in rio rancho, new Mexico to Texas. It's great! I get challenged in academics and the discipline system actually makes sense!


Posted October 13, 2009

I go here, and it's OK. It's a little stressing, and the teachers are pretty good for the most part, but there is a lot of homework
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2009

its great lurning,fun and you make great friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

This a great school for our kids and the teachers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

This school is diamond. However, there is no variety in elective classes and the lunch has no nutrition. Mostly of all students are not learning as much as they should and lesson plans are not creative.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2007

its a good school but they need less homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

This School is two hard on kids, espesily the P.E. Their is two much kids making fun of others. They Shouldnt have Dress Code, thats two hard on the kids, let them have a little space! The Princabal does nothing about these problems. The Teachers are two mean to students and really strict. The buses are not safe! Take My Advice and make your school better please!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2007

My daughter,my baby girl has attend this school since last year.We moved her out of a private school to MVMS. She has been very happy with MVMS. She has made wonderful friends, MVMS has excellent teachers. Last year my daughter's math and reading teachers gave her a goal and she achieved it. MVMS has a wonderful staff, I want to Thank Lori Sanchez the counselor. For her support and encouragement and for making our family so welcomed into this school. I Thank GOD for blessing us with this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

MVMS might be good for regular education, but special ed teachers there have low expectations. Very antiquated ideas of socialization, and a deep denial of any issues that would tarnish their their National Award for Excellence which was about 6 years ago. We are moving to be able to go to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

My child attended MVMS last school year (05/06) and had such a wonderful year!! Her team teachers made the year exciting for her while pushing her to reach her personal and academic goals. She came home almost every day with good stories about class time. After 5 years of needing special attention in grade school, she achieved honor role grades all four quarters last year at MVMS. I attribute that to her teachers who made learning a creative challenge. We love MVMS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

As a long-distance dad I commend Mtn. View Middle School (my son's school) for doing so well with him and being so supportive of my desire to be informed and involved as a parent. This includes the office, teaching, and counseling professionals. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

291 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2010.

274 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students60%
Female58%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Native American50%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities12%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited46%

Reading

All Students67%
Female75%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Native American71%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities15%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students66%
Female66%
Male65%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Native American62%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities15%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited61%

Reading

All Students75%
Female77%
Male72%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Native American75%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities17%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited67%

Science

All Students71%
Female70%
Male72%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Native American69%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities23%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students64%
Female65%
Male63%
African American30%
Asian80%
Hispanic57%
Native American69%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities27%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited61%

Reading

All Students77%
Female80%
Male74%
African American40%
Asian80%
Hispanic78%
Native American62%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities31%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exited78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 25%
Hispanic 44% 58%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 13%
Asian 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4101 Montreal Loop
Rio Rancho, NM 87144
Phone: (505) 896-0667

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Village Academy
Bernalillo, NM


Village Academy
Bernalillo, NM





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT