Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Roswell, NM
Students enrolled: 0

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nm Military Institute 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a teacher
Excellent School. I graduated from there 18 years ago. Though the academics were rigorous, I was WELL prepared for university. My professors were so impressed, they asked me to continue on to graduate school - I owe much of my success to NMMI.

Nm Military Institute 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
My son was branded there by fellow cadets. Unless you want your child to not only have physical scars but emotional scars and spend $$ on therapy I suggest you look elsewhere.


Nm Military Institute 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
Our son has attended NMMI for 3 years and the school has done wonders for him. He was struggling in a few subjects when he first entered NMMI but now is flourishing in all subjects. He now understands how important it is to study hard on a daily basis. He has a regular study routine and the staff has been supportive in his educational development. Because we live out of town It can be difficult to build a solid relationship with our son's teachers. The schools is much more of a boarding school than a military school The hardest part was the first few months during our sons first year. The school does cost quite a bit but there are numerous scholarships available which help take away the sticker shock. Overall I would have to say NMMI has helped prepare our son to be successful in college.

Nm Military Institute 5

Posted March 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a high school freshman at NMMI. We have been very happy with the structure, activities and learning atmosphere. Once the first semester was over she seemed happier and settled into the routine. She is having a hard time keeping her grades up (which we were told was to be expected) but she is getting all the help one could possibly need/want. We would love her to continue attending NMMI and feel it is superior over any local high school in New Mexico. Also, the principal is a warm, caring man. If there are ever concerns he is very open to discussion and actually takes the time to get to know his cadets.

Nm Military Institute 2

Posted February 05, 2011
- a parent
We were very disappointed when my son attended NMMI. It is really a school for kids who are willing to follow the rules until they figure out how to play the system. If your kids isn't likely to do that, stay away. . My son got a tobacco infraction (fair enough) but another student didn't because she buys candy for the person who is responsible for reporting it. My son earned demerits for missing a class, his roommate did not (guess which one is favored). There is seriously inadequate supervision at the barracks. Many thefts and violence. I don't know about you, but I assumed my kid would be safe! The commandant (manages the non-academics) seems to be the problem. Very poor leadership. They did not follow their own rule book in handling demerits. We met people who were happy with the school but they had girls attending, not boys. I wonder if the thefts and violence are not a problem with the girls. The academic side of NMMI was ok for my son, just the barracks area was really a problem. That's why I gave it 2 stars instead of 1.


Nm Military Institute 5

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
My son is a freshman in college. Living in Roswell you hear may different stories about NMMI but it is a wonderful school. Teacher to student ratio fantastic. We just love it

Nm Military Institute 5

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nm Military Institute
101 West College Blv, Roswell, NM  88201
(505) 627-2511
Last modified Nm Military Institute is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Nm Military Institute Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top