Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
278 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gateway Christian School 3

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
This is to the parent who was dissapointed with particularly the front staffs inability to display Christian qualities. Could you clarify a little further please, I am very interested. Thank you

Gateway Christian School 4

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
My children have been at Gateway for 10 years. We tried sending them to public school for two years (1-3 grades- son & 4-5 grades- daughter) and they were MISERABLE there. So we brought them back to Gateway. They are happy and PEACEFUL in this small class environment where they KNOW their teachers and classmates LOVE and CARE for them. They have great athletics, and are working to improve by adding a science lab and a new Track for Track & Field this year (2012). I will NEVER send my kids back to public or any other school. I have the very highest regard for the administrators and teachers. YES, THEY ARE CHRISTIANS. I don't know what that other parent means about favoritism?? All teachers have favorites- ever hear of "teachers pet"?? That exists in ALL schools, and is not exclusive to this or any other private or CHRISTIAN school. Students also test typically 2-3 grade levels ABOVE the national norms in ALL subjects. Here is a BONUS: All that memorizing Bible verses- guess what? It PAYS OFF- teaching important study skills they use thru high school and even COLLEGE. Another BONUS: PRAYER! You WON'T GET THAT IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS, and even our Presidents support prayer.


Gateway Christian School 4

Posted August 10, 2012
- a parent
I am sorry to read about the disappointed parent dated August 1, 2012. I have had disagreements with the staff, but when properly brought to the attention of the administrators, it was handled in a Godly manner. I don't expect for people to be perfect, because there is only one perfect being and that was Jesus. I couldn't even claim that a school could be perfect. For what public school is? The bottom line is that although Gateway is not perfect the staff there have truly reached out to my kids and the administrators are truly partners in training up my children.

Gateway Christian School 1

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
Strongly agree the Abeka curriculum is the reason my kids are such great readers. I like the fact they give homework, and there is accountability required on the students behalf. HOWEVER...favortism reigns and it is very evident. Very dissapointed in a few teachers/front desk staff & administrators who claim to be Christian but who's behavior is anything but Christian. If they are what Christianity is, then I don't want to be considered one. I once could never imagine sending my kids to any other school, however this in fact is no longer the case.

Gateway Christian School 5

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
Gateway is an excellent school. I have three kids at the school. Their test scores are above average compared to national norms. The teachers are great. They have a good athletics program. One of my kids is graduating this year. She did very well on her college entrance exams. I have no reservations recommending Gateway.


Gateway Christian School 4

Posted February 27, 2011
- a parent
Great school. High academic standards. Safe environment due to heavy focus on character development and a structured learning environment, We have had our children there for the last ten years. Great family atmosphere. Well developed arts and athletics programs. We have been very pleased.

Gateway Christian School
no rating

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
Gateway Christian School is a great place to send any child. My experience with the highschool principal is that is a godly man and is down to earth at the same time. He truly wants what is good for the kids and relates to them. The administration is excellent

Gateway Christian School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
Gateway is an incredible environment for my children academically, socially, and spiritually. I was skeptical about the results of putting my children in after homeschooling for several years, but all of my fears proved to be unfounded. We couldn't have a better atmosphere, or better teachers and administrators, for our children.


Gateway Christian School 5

Posted May 28, 2004
- a parent
Gateway has a great elementary school. The Abeka curriculum that they used enhanced my children's reading abilities and study skills.

Gateway Christian School 5

Posted May 17, 2004
- a parent
Gateway Christian School provides an excellent environment for learning, both in the classroom and in the extracurricular activities. Teachers and administration are in sync and focused on the best for the students. You will not find moral relativism here - God's word is the basis for everything. We are very pleased with the learning environment and the respect shown to students, and shown by students to teachers and administrators. We have tried another Christian school in our community, and came back to Gateway in the middle of the school year. We endorse this school and the principles it teaches.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gateway Christian School
Po Box 1642, Roswell, NM  88202
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (575) 622-9710
Last modified Gateway Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top