Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public charter
Santa Fe, NM

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monte Del Sol Charter School 5

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended the school for 1/2 a year, and we love it. The teachers are dedicated, talented professionals. MDS really stresses community and getting along. Socially, it has been wonderful for my child. Carly, the office manager, makes the place run smoothly. The school is somewhat buffered from the test-driven "reforms" that have all but destroyed most public schools. Learning, rather than testing, is what drives MDS. Teachers care about kids and the school and foster creative, critical, out-of-the-box thinking.

Monte Del Sol Charter School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
I find the staff at this school to be very unprofessional. Many have been there too long. Some seem to care more about their positions then what is best for the individual students needs. Discipline is also a large problem.


Monte Del Sol Charter School 1

Posted August 10, 2013
- a community member
Please do not send your child to this school. Ever. The teachers often lose work and then fail you, even after making numerous attempts to communicate with them. The principle or "Head Learner" as they like to call him, is plain ignorant. He will not ever learn your name or even try to attempt to make any social interactions with students/parents if not completely necessary. He sends his "insignificant" problems to the counselor (who is most likely the only competent staff at the school). I was bullied every day at this school. There is WAY too much profanity in this school. If you spend 15 minutes around the students in the school, you WILL hear every profain word in the book. The only person by my side was the wonderful counselor, who can only do so much. I felt socially destroyed by the time the school year ended. I am now currently attending a private school in Santa Fe.

Monte Del Sol Charter School 2

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
School in disarray after founder left about three years ago. Provision of bus service to the school by the school district meant that many disinterested students started to attend. School may or may not be rebuilding. Don't just send your kid here and assume his educational needs are being taken care of. If your kid has educational ambitions, sign him up for classes at the most excellent Junior College at the first opportunity.

Monte Del Sol Charter School 4

Posted November 17, 2010
- a parent
My son has attended MDS since 7th grade, he is now a freshman. I have seen his confidence soar and his academic performance improve. The faculty and staff are friendly and always wanting whats best for the students. The Head Learner is always available to meet and discuss concerns. I am pleased with the Athletic Departments "No Cut" policy and each student athlete is allowed to improve and excel. However, MDS is in dire need of a gym for P.E. classes and athletics, but, with the cuts to education so drastic, doubt this will happen soon. I am so grateful my son is at MDS; he wouldn't have it this good in a 'public school'.


Monte Del Sol Charter School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
This wonderful school fuses together creativity and learning and knows how to keep their students excited to learn and grow.

Monte Del Sol Charter School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
Monte Del Sol has one of the most innovative curriculums, the most qualified staff, and the lesson of acceptance of diversity part of their culture.

Monte Del Sol Charter School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
My son has been at Monte del Sol since 7th grade. It is the best school in Santa Fe, staffed with hard-working individuals from the custodians to the head learner. Everyone cares a great deal about the students' success. The award-winning mentorship program was given grant money from the City of Santa Fe to develop the program in other city high schools. Food grown in the Edible Kitchen Garden is served at lunch to students and any parent and visitor who wants to partake. Their special services staff is the best of any public school my son has attended. Parental involvement is always encouraged. I've never been disappointed with any aspect of this school. Charter schools are the best thing going and Monte is a great example of how to do it right.


Monte Del Sol Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a teacher
It's small and friendly; everyone knows each other and is committed to doing their best for the kids.

Monte Del Sol Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Monte Del Sol Charter School has a terrific mentorship program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monte Del Sol Charter School
4157 Walking Rain Rd, Santa Fe, NM  87507
(505) 467-2003
Last modified Monte Del Sol Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monte Del Sol Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top