Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-8|Private
45 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fayette St Academy 5

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
We look forward to beginning our 6th year with Fayette. At each grade level, we've found the academics appropriately rigorous and the teachers creative and engaged. We are lucky to have found this jewel of a school!

Fayette St Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
I feel that the teachers compensate for what they do not teach by giving unreasonable amounts of homework.


Fayette St Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
No, how can respect develop when students are not respected? The children are forced to comply through inconsistent and abusive treatment. They develop fear, not respect.

Fayette St Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Children are punished when they stand up for other students. They are not listened to for the most part, and the teacher's way is the only way.

Fayette St Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
You can see the weird social environment of this school when you watch how the younger children treat the older. They tattle on the older students constantly, delighting in getting them in trouble. This all comes from the teachers, who are extremely authoritarian, have unfair and arbitrary disciplinary procedures, and definitely play favorites and pit students against each other.


Fayette St Academy 1

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
As a parent of a former student, I can strongly echo what others have said about the abusive, unfair environment of this school. If your child is independent and questions the school's systems, they will constantly grind the child down until s/he believes s/he is somehow flawed. My child was frequently shamed, sent home without reason (or any communication from staff), blamed when other children misbehaved, and treated like a psychiatric case. When he transferred to a great new place, he was able to blossom and shine and remember the bright competent person he actually is. What a travesty. They just want your money. Don't give it to them. They should pay me for what my child endured there.

Fayette St Academy 1

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
As a former student, I have personally experienced the academic and administrative aspects of this school. The curriculum is incomplete and vague and does not prepare you for the real world. I found myself unprepared academically when I transferred to a public middle school. The the teachers and administration favor all who do not question their actions and punish those who do. The administration is biased in their ways of justice turning a blind eye to some student's misconduct and targeting others. The staff creates an unsafe emotional environment for those who follow their own path. I was physically assaulted by a student who was in their inner circle. After the incident the staff consoled the the other student instead of checking on me, the only one to get injured. This is one example of the many injustices that occur regularly. I strongly recommend you to find another option for your child.

Fayette St Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
there have been some great teachers at this school but they don't seem to stay long.


Fayette St Academy 1

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
This school puts up a facade of openness and kindness, when in reality children are made to feel frightened and dominated. Authoritarianism and shaming techniques seem to be a big part of the program.

Fayette St Academy 1

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
This school misrepresents itself. To visitors and readers of its Facebook page, it seems respectful, caring, mindful, fun. The reality is a shaming, inconsistent and emotionally unsafe environment where teachers demean and arbitrarily punish and control children without reference to policy. Parents have no recourse, as the school is not accredited. Communication with parents is inconsistent and defensive. All in all, a terrible experience.

Nearby schools

Fayette St Academy
830 Fayette Street, Santa Fe, NM  87505
(505) 982-3396
Last modified Fayette St Academy is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
Top