Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atalaya Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
We are very, very pleased with Atalaya. Both of our kids are thriving, thanks to strong leadership and a frankly surprising selection of inspiring teachers. It has a supportive, involved PTA and a diverse group of great kids. Really our only criticism is that it doesn't have 7th and 8th grades. WE DON'T WANT TO LEAVE SO SOON!

Atalaya Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The students bring a great mix of different experiences and backgrounds to the school and the kids learn a great deal from each other and all are welcome.


Atalaya Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, leaders and parents are very involved at this school and create a great atmosphere for the kids. The beautiful new building is great but it also represented a significant challenge to make it a thriving school environment. Everyone has worked together to do just that.

Atalaya Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter has been at Atalaya for a few years now and the teachers have always been skilled and committed to the kids. Principal Diaz has come on board and increased the level of collaboration and respect among teachers, staff and parents and brought the school to an even higher level. Thank you.

Atalaya Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to our great secretary Martha, always available to help, always friendly, and a great representation of our school at the front door!


Atalaya Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Atalaya is a great fit for our family, we even choose to drive across town to attend the school. The Principal, the PTA, and the teachers are always available to talk and find resolutions to any problems. I love the parents and the kids in the community, we enjoy the community events and the building and area feels safe. So far our kids are doing well academically and socially. It's a great public school.

Atalaya Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
This has been a great school for my daughter. She has a learning challange and the principle/teacher/resource team has been great. they allowed our outside tutor to be included in the team. Our new principle is great. He has many years of experience and comes from Acequia Madre also a stellar school.

Atalaya Elementary School 2

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
This school has gone down hill. There has been a high level of turn over regarding principals. Not to mention: My child's second grade teacher, who shall remain unnamed was completely the worst teacher ever! She was totally unreceptive and did not prepare my child adequately for third grade. One of the diamonds in the rough here is a Very Pro-Active PTA. Maybe they can turn things around. Overall, Atalaya was a bad match for our family.


Atalaya Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is int he 2nd grade at Atayala and both she and I are very happy with the school. They have been very supportive of parent interaction with class activities and her education is top notch. We couldn't ask for a better environment right now.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atalaya Elementary School
721 Camino Cabra, Santa Fe, NM  87501
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (505) 467-2003
Last modified Atalaya Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top