Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wood-Gormley Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

Most parents in Santa Fe view this as the best school! It is not. The teachers fail to meet children's basic needs. The teachers and aides do not even say hello to your child. They except them to be "robots," so that they can get the highest test scores. Our child no longer goes there but our decision to switch to private school was the best choice! If you go to this school, just make sure you get the "right" kinder teacher! Ask around. Our child is thriving at his new school and feels loved and cherished!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

We were told this was the best school in Santa Fe. If high significance on standardized tests, a principal who will not hear you, and ungodly amounts of homework is how we define "best" these days, then I guess so. My kiddo was not a good match for his teacher, a woman who doesn't seem to enjoy kids anymore. The principal would not move my child to another class. It seems like the allowance for students to be the kids they actually are has been replace by a militaristic system of indoctrination. This treatment is not just reserved for students. As a parent, I experienced the this-is-the-way-it-is,-your-kid-needs-to-fit-in-and-do-what-he's-told. No conversation, just a wall. (My child read books when lessons were going on and refused to do homeowrk - not totally horrible by any means.) I believe the whole of SFPS has bought into this philosophy and I'm not sure what to tell readers. The severity of which ridiculous district policy is implemented within each school depends upon the principal. I've heard Acequia Madre's principal is a kind and reasonable man, but unless you live in that zone, good luck. I'm looking to move into that zone, until then, every day is a struggle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

WG has been a disappointment. The school is not teaching to its demographic. Families here are generally highly-educated, well-traveled, successful at their professions, and very active parts in their child's education. Why then is WG training its student population with a one-size-fits-all mentality? Uniforms. Euphemistically called dress code. Where through history and up to present time are uniforms worn? With what population of people? Well, people who need to be behaviorally stripped down and put into place; who need to have their individuality removed; who need to be programmed to act, speak, and think in a predetermined manner. Is that what you desire for your child? Significance on standardized tests. The word "standard" itself means average & normal. Would Donald Trump, Oprah, & Richard Branson be where they are today remaining small like everyone else? For parents who like to see education as a tool of empowerment; as a means of encouraging more expansive thinking; and as a way for kids to know they can create & generate more possibility in the world, WG won't do. I'm sending my kiddo to a nearby private Montessori school before too much mediocrity sets in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

My spouse and I have been parents of Wood Gormley students for many years. We used to feel that this was a good school, but it has sunk in our estimation. It is crowded, has lots of families who don't live in the zone but somehow manage to get in, and the school has become overly concerned with test scores. The human aspect of teaching is gone: Little warmth from the teachers, who seem overloaded by the crowding and the narrow focus on testing. If you want inspired, caring teaching that exhilarates students to do their best, this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

I chose this school over the top private schools in Santa Fe. I loved this school and its visionary principal, Dr. Linda Besett, so much that I removed my kids from their private school, bought property in the school district, and moved into it just so my kids could go to school there. A former superintendent, Dr. Besett CARES about the individual learning needs of every child at her school. Consequently, my children have received the services--both in the gifted and support ares--they need in order to reach their highest potential as learners. The teachers are exceptional; they do their utmost to make sure their students think creatively and do their personal best. Compared to the top private school in Santa Fe, I can confidently say Wood Gormley offers a stronger academic program, better competitive sports programs, better art teacher, and is much better at providing students individualized learning opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love Wood Goremley Elementary School because they're so cool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Wood Gormley has a great art program supported by their parent group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

This school is great my children learn so much here and the teachers are so nice. Me and my kids love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

The previous writers No Child Left Behind comments I found interesting. The principal at this school is exceptional. She was highly committed to students. The supervision of playground activities and attention to special needs not as good as I would have liked. Too many delays in meeting the needs of the child even though we were very proative parents. They encourage parent involment yet I signed up for many of the parent-assisted activities no one ever called me. It felt like there was a clickishness to the school. I have education in film-making, music, art and literature, outdoor activities and publishing as well as administrative background--offered my help in all areas and no one ever called me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2003

Overall, we are very pleased. We particularly appreciate the fact that Wood Gormley does not 'teach the test' the way so many schools do now. Very committed and aggressive base of parents at this school are a challenge for the principal. Principal has an eye for teaching talent and has mostly (but not completely) stocked the school with some real winners. 'No Child Left Behind' rules have created an influx of particularly tough children in lower grades, whose parents value the door-to-door bus service and the extra child care at the end of the day more than the school itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2010.

56 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students86%
Female79%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female85%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students82%
Female77%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students87%
Female85%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities58%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities50%
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 26%
Hispanic 33% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

141 East Booth St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: (505) 467-2003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Willow School
Santa Fe, NM






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT