Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calvin Capshaw Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2014

My daughter attends Capshaw.She has improve very much on test scores this year. She showed me her tests and she is proficient in Math and English. Thankyou Capshaw.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

This school is top notch when it comes to helping children learn. They have several dedicated teachers who go above and beyond to help a student learn. I have had the opportunity to meet my son's teachers and keep in touch with them to track the progress of my child. His teachers are very cooperative and collaborate with me when there is any concern with my child. They seek many avenues to help these children. You can see the teachers her truly care about the students. They have new computers that students are working on. They are learning Micro Soft office which involves Word, Excel. Access and Power Point. I think this is a great thing because it's something they will be using in the future more often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

This school is AWFUL. No wonder New Mexico public schools are ranked 49th in the US. The teachers should be more concerned with the 50% drop out rate in the Santa Fe Public School District and preventing gang fights in the hallway. Instead, they pick on quiet children who "need to make some friends" and use their class time to burden the students with inappropriate tales of their personal tragedies and liberal political views. Next year we will move and my sons will go to another school. Counting the days!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

this was the best school i have ever been to i really love that scholl and im going to miss it love u CMS


Posted January 13, 2012

This school was the best public school I have ever been to. The teachers were wonderful and fun, and we did many fun actvities, and I regret only being able to stay there for one year. The students were also very kind and helpful.


Posted February 10, 2011

I survived Capshaw. Three fight threats. Tons of peer pressure. One girl even got pregnant. I hated the dress code. We had security gaurds and Identification Cards. Some students have been seen with weapons such as knives or lighters. I wasn't fond of the principal or many of the teachers. They didn't really teach in class, they just gave us piles of homework and made us go study it for ourselves. Even so, I was a straight A student with the exceptional B. I only had one true friend. I got very lucky and finally switched into Monte del Sol. It is soooooo much better you would not belieive it!!! So I reccomend for the parents to take their kids somewhere else if possible.


Posted October 1, 2010

My eldest daughter seemed to have survived Capshaw, but I've transferred my younger one out of this school. While some of the teachers are very good, there are others that are not responsible at all, and are downright rude and unapproachable. One teacher left two students stranded in town at dark during a field trip without calling either parent. I was 15 minutes late, because I got lost and I found my daughter waiting in the dark and cold without any supervision! The school unfortunately is run like a prison camp. There is nothing personable about the place. The front desk is rude to both students and parents. And lastly, the student population is questionable - there are just too many kids, and a quite few bad apples in the bunch. I was very disappointed in this school, and my younger daughter is thriving elsewhere thank goodness!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

i am an eight grader at Capshaw and it is a ver good school. i would perfer bringing your student to this schhol. they will be givin good classes with good teachers. capshaw middle school rocks!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2009

CMS is a great jr high. I am a student and all of the teachers are evry helpful. Ms.Garcia and Ms.Lujan know how to help the students whenever we are having problems. I am glad that my parents put me in this jr high. I LOVE CMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2009

I'm a student at Capshaw Middle School. It is an excellent school because the teachers and staff care about you personally and your grades. Teachers are willing to stay after to talk to you about your grades and encourage you to do your best. Also, the coaches check grades every friday to make sure that you are not falling behind. Overall, I would recomend Capshaw to anyone wanting to send your child to the best of the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2008

Capshaw Jr. High is a good school. I am a student there. All of the teachers are realy nice. Ms.Garcia and Ms. Lujan are very helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2008

My son attends Capshaw Middle School (CMS) in Santa Fe. We had other options and found that CMS gave us the best value. The teachers are well qualified and truly care about the students. CMS breaks down each grade into smaller groups called families. This has allowed the teachers to really know the students and address their needs as a 'family.' I strongly encourage parents to check CMS out before jumping to the private school scene and paying huge bucks for a private education when a very good local school exists in your neighborhood - what I consider a good value!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

This is our most positive experience at a SFPS too. My son attended 7th and 8th grade and now my daughter is here as a 7th grader. Both kids love the teachers and the school. My daughter was apprehensive about attending Capshaw because of false rumors that she was hearing from her friends. She actually attended all the other open houses at the other schools and was most impressed with Capshaw. She is extremely happy with the education and the staff and has met great friends. Capshaw's staff is professional and approachable. They are absolutely wonderful and we are all so very happy with our decision to keep our kids in Public Schools. I recommend sending your child to shadow one of the students, let them find out for themselves how wonderful the teachers are and safe the school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This is my daughter's first year at Capshaw and she loves it! The teachers are as good as her El Dorado teachers or possibly better! The math teacher, has at least 2 parent volunteers in every class and kids get one-on one instruction. Most kids move up at least 4 years in Math. The school offers Pre-AP classes, enrichment, and lots of wonderful afterschool clubs and activities. I highly reccomend visiting the school and observing classes. Teachers are very welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This is our first year at Capshaw and it has been the most positive SFPS experience my son and I have had. The communication with the principals, teachers, counselors, principals and staff is impressive. My son feels safe and happy. Most importantly at this juncture in my sons life, is the way adults interact with him. The teachers seem to treat him with respect and value his opinion and his style of being, along with disciplining him appropriately. He is doing well and is enjoying the learning process which means the teachers are great! Plus, the school has been given a facelift: it now has sky lights, new lockers and a beautiful new cafeteria. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

This is the best of the worst. Its was the only public mid-school meeting standards in Santa Fe. Some teachers who would be a credit to any school are at Capshaw. But as only 'performing' school under No Child Left Behind Act, Capshaw has been slammed with many new students who are way behind academically. Many are also discipline problems. Good students are unwelcome by the administration. And why not? Their good test scores got the school into its enrollment mess, and they bring troublesome, demanding parents. This is the kind of school where some teachers will mark your kid down if you complain about something. Pros: First class teachers. Cons: Everything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

Capshaw is a wonderful school that has a strong energy and a need to learn. The teachers strive to get the children involved and they actualy care about what the the child does. It needs improvement like every other school in New Mexico, but out of all the middle schools in Santa Fe it is definately the best. It is a great school, and I strongly advisse you to send your children there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2005

Capshaw is a beautifully built school! The lockers are roomy and the classrooms are nice. Capshaw is a wonderful school and i suggest sending your children there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2005

I'm a former student to this school. The building itself is very poorly built. It feels very dark in the school. The teachers are not the greatest. It sure can use some improvements.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2010.

220 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students44%
Female49%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities21%
English Language Learner Current15%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female62%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities8%
English Language Learner Current4%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students47%
Female49%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities16%
English Language Learner Current0%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students33%
Female33%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities5%
English Language Learner Current7%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female47%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities7%
English Language Learner Current17%
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 59%
White 29% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (505) 989-5439

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

351 West Zia Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: (505) 467-2003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pnm-Santa Fe
Santa Fe, NM




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT