Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful, wonderful school. When we first moved to Santa Fe, all we ever heard was, "Oh, are you sending your kids to Wood Gormley?" Um, no, because there was no way we could afford to live in that district. And I'm so glad! My son had a fantastic year in kindergarten! The school staff and administration are professional and friendly, and dedicated to helping students succeed. He especially loved art and music, and learned to read quickly. We loved the diversity of the student (and teacher) population, too. I didn't move to NM to keep my kids in an all-white world, which is pretty much what we saw at that other elementary school everyone raves about. The school itself is beautiful, and beautifully maintained with large, well-lit classrooms, shining floors, and a fantastic playground. The parent group is incredibly active, and very welcoming. The principal, who has been at Pinon since it opened, couldn't be better. The school community is warm, and the "extras" like talent shows, spirit days, parent curriculum nights, open houses, etc. were simply delightful. This school is a best-kept secret in the school district, I think, and you'd be lucky to send your child here.

Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
Last year was our first year at Pinon, and I can't say enough good things. Great art and music, and our kid enjoyed the PE teacher a lot, too. His teacher was a seasoned veteran, who communicated regularly with us about his progress. He made lots of friends, and had a blast on the playground. We had a bullying experience, in which our kid was being pushed around by a classmate, and it was met with instant and resounding consequences. I couldn't be happier with how the school handled this situation. The administration not only handled the situation to our satisfaction (meaning the bully was sent to counseling and received fair punishment, and never bothered our kid again), but the counselor followed up with our son for several weeks, touching base with him at least twice a week to make sure he was feeling safe. Bravo!


Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a community member
Don't the "8" rating fool you. This school is a "10"! Kind and knowledgeable teachers and staff. Great facility, including a large, well-lit library and a gleaming cafeteria.

Pinon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
I love how the safety of the children is important. I love how the principal and vice-principal are involved with the children and duties throughout the day. The staff is excellent and are really supportive of the children and parents.

Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
The staff at Pinon have always been great with students and Parents. They keep the children from being disrespectful, and out of control.


Pinon Elementary School 4

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
The teaching staff has always been helpful and has helped my children to excel as they move up in grade, and Janice Devoti does everything to make the school what is.

Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Pinon Elementary School 1

Posted November 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2007
- a parent
Janis Devoti is a remarkable principal. In the face of extreme financial pressure she does indeed run a very tight ship. The teachers and students worship the ground she walks on. No job is too big or small for her to tackle, from a listening ear to a myriad of student problems to senior traffic marshal at the horrendous traffic flows the school encounters twice each day. Parents will do anything to get their children into her school. As a result of her stellar efforts Pinon is also one of the rare schools that met AYP for No child left behind last year. If only we could clone this remarkable person what an educational system we would have!

Pinon Elementary School 4

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
Large school but run very well. As is typical of most santa fe schools, parent involvement is poor. Principal runs a tight ship and students appear to respect each other. For Santa Fe this is one of the top Grade schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pinon Elementary School
2921 Camino Caballos, Santa Fe, NM  87505
(505) 467-2003
Last modified Pinon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pinon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top