Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
313 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Santa Fe Preparatory School 5

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter has been thriving in this supportive environment. The staff are dynamic and take a real interest in the growth and development of our daughter. The staff and administration have made a remarkable effort to diversify the student body both culturally and economically and support them to maintain their own identities.

Santa Fe Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
Every teacher that our daughter has had since arriving at Prep, has inspired her and encouraged her, recognizing her natural strengths and working with her to build new strengths.


Santa Fe Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter seems able to manage the amount of homework given efficiently and comfortably most of the time.

Santa Fe Preparatory School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
Santa Fe Prep has a rigorous academic curriculum that requires determination to manage. The expectation of the school that everyone participate in a sport, has encouraged our daughter to push herself past her comfort zone.

Santa Fe Preparatory School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
Yes. The teachers and administrators set the example - modeling respect with each other and the students.


Santa Fe Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
Yes. It is both through example by the staff and by expectations of the school curriculum which includes weekly community service as well as life skills class.

Santa Fe Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
I believe that the staff exemplify these characteristics and thereby support and inspires these character traits.

Santa Fe Preparatory School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
I run a non-profit in town and have always been impressed by the caliber of the students from Santa Fe Prep who have interned with us. Now I have a 7th grader at Prep who is thriving at the school and recently I had the opportunity to shadow her for a full day. From what I observe the teachers know their fields and are passionate about teaching. They don't teach to the middle but meet the students where they are, know their learning style and engage them. The size of the school is ideal. 320 is small enough to create a community where every student is well known and no one falls through the proverbial cracks. Yet the school is large enough to have a wide variety of courses and extracurricular activities. The students seem to genuinely care about each other. They study together, attend each others' games and performances and cheer each other on in and outside of the classroom. The culture is one of constantly striving to do more and to do better. It is also very welcoming, the admissions folks are down to earth and I would encourage you to visit Prep and observe for yourself whether it would meet your child's needs.


Santa Fe Preparatory School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
We have two children in the upper school. They entered Santa Fe Preparatory in 7th grade and have been inspired by the academic culture at SFP. The teachers are dedicated, impassioned and very much available to students and parents throughout the social and academic journey. SFP offers excellent academics with intensive honors courses as well as an impressive array of art classes and a caring environment. Santa Fe Breakthrough is housed at Santa Fe Prep and this and other community service programs encourage students to reach beyond the private school campus and be a part of the larger community. College counseling is excellent.

Santa Fe Preparatory School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Prep, and we have been pleased with the challenge of the education he's getting and with the diversity of the students. Within a few weeks, it was obvious to see he was excited about what he was learning - this came from strong teachers who are invested in what they are teaching. He's not your typical jock (though Prep has quite a few of those), but quickly found his group of slightly nerdy, academically focussed kids. With teenagers, you have to ride some ups and downs, but we can tell he loves the place. We are happy with the choice we made to send him to Prep.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Santa Fe Preparatory School
1101 Camino De Cruz Blanca, Santa Fe, NM  87505
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (505) 982-1829
Last modified Santa Fe Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top