Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rio Grande School

Private | PK-6 | 158 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Fe

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $245,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Rio Grande is a fantastic and supportive learning environment for chidren. The school offers a broad academic curriculum and has a wide variety of extracurricular activities designed to nurture a chid's imagination and desire to learn. The teachers and administration are top notch are completely dedicated to the mission. The parent community is close knit and extremely supportive. This school is second to none!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2014

Rio Grande School is an outstanding school in the Santa Fe community. A smaller school with 150 students, my children learn in an environment where the teacher ratio is 1:7, not including the 11 specialists that also support the students. My children learn excellent core academics, but also drama, art, music, Spanish, technology, experiential education and have P.E. several times per week. The faculty and staff are incredible, with the majority having Master Degrees, and are dedicated to the children. If any problems arise, teachers and staff are very communicative with the parents. The parent community is very welcoming with ample opportunities to get involved through volunteering and community outreach. My children and I are very happy at Rio Grande School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

Terrible school!. The headmaster is influenced by a select group of parents who give large sums of money and tell him exactly what to do. They have had turnover in the last several years and the quality of education has diminished. We were at the school for several years and finally made a choice to move our children elsewhere. The school has several fund raising events throughout the year and it was quite surprising to us what happened at those after dark parties. I wish the "new " headmaster lots of luck and hopes he puts the children before the board. However, sadly, he will not be able to have an original idea or put forth any real initiative and has been set up for failure much like his predecessors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

We loved this school when we first arrived. The younger grades have loving teachers, however in recent years the leadership has declined. Too many headmasters in a few years so we chose to go elsewhere. For a private school also you would think kids would be ahead of the children academically but they are not. A few of the great teachers have left, and many parents are now choosing local public schools over RGS. Too much focus on fundraising also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

This is an excellent school which serves 160 kids from age 3 to grade 6. It features small classes, and two teachers in every classroom and "specials" which ranged from science to PE to fine arts to drama. We have 3 kids at the school and have found the faculty to be uniformly outstanding. School has become much more diverse recently. Financial aid is very generous. My kids are eager to get to school and disappointed when there are snow days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Hands down the best elementary school in Santa Fe. The school has the best staff and facilities, and has thrived under Headmaster Jay Underwood's leadership. The administration takes great care in all aspects of running the school and continues to compensate it's teachers at the most competitive levels in the region. Everyone my children have encountered at the school has been highly motivated, which is contagious among the students. RGS's strong relationship with Santa Fe Prep allows their curriculum and their culture to prepare students good transition and success during 7-12 grades at any competitive middle school or high school. As a parent, I could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

Absolutely the most amazing school for elementary school aged children. A community of children, parents, faculty, staff, and alumni continunously mold this school to be better than the previous year, after year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

Exceptional elementary school with commited faculty.Equal to the best independent schools in the major US cities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

Rio Grande is by far the best elementary school in Santa Fe. This school is solid academically and culturally. As a smaller school (less than 100 students) Rio Grande still has some growing pains regarding facilities and programs, but both are already much better than most in Santa Fe. Furthermore the new Head of School, Jay Underwood, is the best administrator in this town. I strongly believe that Rio Grande will thrive under his leadership, placing Rio Grande on a future path that no other elementary school in Santa Fe will come close to replicating.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 26%
Hispanic 9% 59%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

715 Camino Cabra
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: (505) 983-1621

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT