Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Santa Fe, NM
Students enrolled: 158
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rio Grande School 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Rio Grande School is the only ISAS accredited pre-k and elementary school in Santa Fe. We have been so impressed by the learning experiences our boys have received at the school, including 2 teachers per class; mentor programs with older students; art, Spanish, theater, experiential education, physical education, science, music, and top-notch academics in a sweet, supportive setting. The campus is beautiful, and the students spend lots of time outside and in the surrounding open spaces. We've been so impressed and would highly recommend this school to others wanting the very best elementary education for their children. Rio Grande School is a great community too -- very inclusive and supportive and all around a wonderful learning environment.
2 people found this helpful

Rio Grande School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
Rio Grande is a fantastic and supportive learning environment for chidren. The school offers a broad academic curriculum and has a wide variety of extracurricular activities designed to nurture a chid's imagination and desire to learn. The teachers and administration are top notch are completely dedicated to the mission. The parent community is close knit and extremely supportive. This school is second to none!
2 people found this helpful


Rio Grande School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Rio Grande School is an outstanding school in the Santa Fe community. A smaller school with 150 students, my children learn in an environment where the teacher ratio is 1:7, not including the 11 specialists that also support the students. My children learn excellent core academics, but also drama, art, music, Spanish, technology, experiential education and have P.E. several times per week. The faculty and staff are incredible, with the majority having Master Degrees, and are dedicated to the children. If any problems arise, teachers and staff are very communicative with the parents. The parent community is very welcoming with ample opportunities to get involved through volunteering and community outreach. My children and I are very happy at Rio Grande School!

Rio Grande School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school!. The headmaster is influenced by a select group of parents who give large sums of money and tell him exactly what to do. They have had turnover in the last several years and the quality of education has diminished. We were at the school for several years and finally made a choice to move our children elsewhere. The school has several fund raising events throughout the year and it was quite surprising to us what happened at those after dark parties. I wish the "new " headmaster lots of luck and hopes he puts the children before the board. However, sadly, he will not be able to have an original idea or put forth any real initiative and has been set up for failure much like his predecessors.

Rio Grande School 3

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
We loved this school when we first arrived. The younger grades have loving teachers, however in recent years the leadership has declined. Too many headmasters in a few years so we chose to go elsewhere. For a private school also you would think kids would be ahead of the children academically but they are not. A few of the great teachers have left, and many parents are now choosing local public schools over RGS. Too much focus on fundraising also.


Rio Grande School 5

Posted August 29, 2010
- a parent
This is an excellent school which serves 160 kids from age 3 to grade 6. It features small classes, and two teachers in every classroom and "specials" which ranged from science to PE to fine arts to drama. We have 3 kids at the school and have found the faculty to be uniformly outstanding. School has become much more diverse recently. Financial aid is very generous. My kids are eager to get to school and disappointed when there are snow days.

Rio Grande School
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
Hands down the best elementary school in Santa Fe. The school has the best staff and facilities, and has thrived under Headmaster Jay Underwood's leadership. The administration takes great care in all aspects of running the school and continues to compensate it's teachers at the most competitive levels in the region. Everyone my children have encountered at the school has been highly motivated, which is contagious among the students. RGS's strong relationship with Santa Fe Prep allows their curriculum and their culture to prepare students good transition and success during 7-12 grades at any competitive middle school or high school. As a parent, I could not be happier.

Rio Grande School
no rating

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
Absolutely the most amazing school for elementary school aged children. A community of children, parents, faculty, staff, and alumni continunously mold this school to be better than the previous year, after year.


Rio Grande School 5

Posted February 25, 2008
- a parent
Exceptional elementary school with commited faculty.Equal to the best independent schools in the major US cities!

Rio Grande School 5

Posted January 15, 2006
- a parent
Rio Grande is by far the best elementary school in Santa Fe. This school is solid academically and culturally. As a smaller school (less than 100 students) Rio Grande still has some growing pains regarding facilities and programs, but both are already much better than most in Santa Fe. Furthermore the new Head of School, Jay Underwood, is the best administrator in this town. I strongly believe that Rio Grande will thrive under his leadership, placing Rio Grande on a future path that no other elementary school in Santa Fe will come close to replicating.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rio Grande School
715 Camino Cabra, Santa Fe, NM  87505
(505) 983-1621
Last modified Rio Grande School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Rio Grande School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top