Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
87 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Montessori School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
I want to thank Miss Melia Miss June. Before my son came to this school he was acting out, talking mostly about cartoons he had never even seen and "shooting" with anything he could get his hands on. Once we changed schools and he started learning with these two watchers his whole attitude changed. He talks about the earth and how to save it, he does math in the car for fun and he started reading at 4 and a half! The teachers take the children outside whenever they can and he has been getting an education of the great outdoors as well. In my opinion that is the best place to learn and to have experiences. I'm so grateful to these teachers for helping to change my son's attitude. He loves to learn now!! He loves to ask questions and he continues to try to challenge himself as often as he can.

Desert Montessori School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
DMS is a great school with amazing staff and teachers. My daughters loves going to school and I feel confident that she is learning and excelling.


Desert Montessori School 5

Posted January 12, 2012
- a parent
I moved my daughter to Desert when she started 4th grade because I was convinced that she would be offered a better educational and social/emotional experience than she would get at her current school. I was not disappointed. Her academic abilities began to blossom under the care of her teachers. The high academic standards and the creativity brought to the classroom create a climate of success. This, in turn, fostered a new sense of pride and accomplishment in my daughter. My only regret is not starting her at Desert Montessori when she was in preschool.

Desert Montessori School 5

Posted December 11, 2011
- a parent
We've had two kids at DMS since 2006 and we love it! The kids get individualized attention and are held to high standards.

Desert Montessori School 5

Posted November 16, 2011
- a parent
Our oldest daughter graduated from Desert Montessori last year (2011), and now that she is at Santa Fe Prep, we can really "see" how Desert Montessori prepared her for success. She is thriving and loves learning. The Desert Montessori teachers are amazing and truly dedicated to providing the best environment and education for every child!


Desert Montessori School 5

Posted November 16, 2011
- a parent
Desert Montessori has been nothing short of spectacular for my kids. It is a small school with an engaged community of parents, with outstanding teachers. My children get all the basics, plus Spanish, Art and Music from teachers dedicated to those subjects. Academically my kids are exceeding their grade levels and expectations, but more than that, they are happy, challenged, supported and thriving. I would highly recommend the school to anyone looking for quality education in Santa Fe.

Desert Montessori School 5

Posted November 16, 2011
- a parent
We have two boys at Desert Montessori, and we've been absolutely satisfied with the school from the first day. Our second grader is in a classroom that supports his interests, provides an exciting and stimulating environment, and pays special attention to who he is as an individual. Our younger son is in a preschool classroom where he is nurtured, stimulated, and encouraged to thrive. We couldn't be happier with the education our boys have received, and we're looking forward to continuing our educational journey at this school through 6th grade for both kids. We've also been really happy with the other families at the school, and have had the opportunity to form lasting friendships with those families. Desert is a good place, with good people, and an excellent education.

Desert Montessori School 5

Posted November 16, 2011
- a parent
Both my children went to Desert Montessori starting at three years old and graduating sixth grade. It was a supportive and nurturing environment, and academically very strong while also using several multi sensory techniques for learning that helped all children learn better. Collaboration between students and no tolerance for teasing or bullying of any kind was the norm. Now they are both doing well at Desert Academy thanks to their foundation at Desert Montessori.


Desert Montessori School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
We observed in a careful process at several schools in town before selecting this one, and have been very happy. The staff and leadership is caring, experienced and dedicated. The facilities are ample and well suited for the school. Most importantly, the classroom environment is nurturing, structured and allows for great interaction between students and staff. Our child has been here since pre-school and is receiving a great academic and social education, learning to love to learn, and will be well prepared for any high school.

Desert Montessori School 5

Posted March 03, 2011
- a parent
Our son has been attending this school starting in the older Preschool class and is now in the Kindergarten. We have been delighted with his and our experience. The teachers are excellent. Not only are they very loving, but based on my son's work that he brings home is on par with the finest schools in the country. As a school volunteer, I have seen how kids in every class from the Preschool to the Upper Elementary receive personalized attention and are helped to succeed on every level, even if they learn at a different pace or are "learning different". Our son will attend Elementary School here and we look forward to it! :-)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Montessori School
316 Camino Delora, Santa Fe, NM  87505
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (505) 983-8212
Last modified Desert Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top