Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Santa Fe Christian Academy

Private | PK-9 | 134 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Fe

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $189,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Santa Fe Christian Academy is an amazing school with a great curriculum, outstanding teachers, an amazing music program, art & P.E. programs and a loving community that helps our children thrive! We cannot say enough good things about this school! We love the events that the Parent/Teacher Support group host, Date Night is our favorite! We can leave our kids in a safe and fun environment while we have a much needed night out! And when people hear our 2nd & 4th Graders read they are blown away, and their test scores compared to the national percentiles are way above average!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

We switch to SFCA after a bad experience at Wood Gormley (supposed to be the best school in SF)! Wow, what a difference! The kindergarten teachers are so kind and loving! They are excellent teachers too! The course work is rigorous but the kids still seem to enjoy school. Religious instruction is top-notch! Another great thing about this school is that all the teachers are good to all the children. My little guy had a hard time transitioning from preschool to kinder and SFCA did a great job, where Wood Gormley failed!! My only complaint is that lunch is pricy! But I do not mind too much, because I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

The best school for my child! If your searching for the perfect fit for your child-I would highly recommend visiting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

We absolutely love MVCA!!! Not only have our children thrived academically at this school, they have also built strong character. The curriculum is excellent and the art and physical education programs are great. The music program is AMAZING! The school is run separately from the church on-site and is non-denominational. We can't say enough about what this school has done for our kids and our family as a whole. We never thought we would be able to keep our kids in private school, but after one year here it was clear that we would have to work hard and make their tuition first priority in our lives! It has been, and will always be worth every penny because the amazing education and values our children have received here will be with them for the rest of their lives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

This is an excellent school. Not only will your child excell academically (students at MVCA score on avearge 2 grades above the public schools in Santa Fe) but your child will develop leadership skills, confidence and a firm foundation to make good choices. Additionally, your child will participate in a rich art and music program as well as a challenging but fun physical education program. I encourage you to visit the school - you won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

Please look at other public schools before attending this school. Staff, administration, and the board is non supportive and non existant. No support. Had to obtain legal action in order to resolve any open issues with staff who are not qualified to be in a leadership position. My daughter was 6 years old and there were definate signs of relatiation because of parent concerns formally noted. Call me with any specific questions 505-927-6979 for clarification. This is not a Christian school you would expect....not a Christian administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

A challenging curriculum with a strong judeochristian values base. This school actually has a challenging physical education program and excellent music and art programs. Limited class sizes in high school grades may be a drawback to some and blessing to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

We moved our child to Mission from a SF public school. Mission was light years ahead in terms of academics and character. We have been happy with the school. It was a blessing to our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

Mission Viejo is a good school. The third Grade teacher is outstanding. We hope the school can grow and provide more academic challenges to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Great school with a 90+ percentage that go on to collage
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 59%
White 43% 26%
Two or more races 8% 1%
Black 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bernadette Shanaberger, Principal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ORUEF

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Mission Bend
Santa Fe, NM 87507
Website: Click here
Phone: (505) 474-8080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT