Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Santa Teresa High School

Public | 9-12 | 1327 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2013

As a student of Santa Teresa High School I find this school to be improving each and every year: having and seeing older siblings graduate from here. The teachers here do an exceptional job and forging bonds with their students. Through this bond you do receive individualized help from your teachers. The teachers don't just view you as another student like some schools do. One of my teachers explained it to us the best, "We are an investment in their future" that is why they care that we receive the best quality and education out there. Fights and bullying at a minimum. SAT and ACT scores improve each year, as well does our state test performance. The fallacies on the nurses charging a dollar and our own teachers being illiterate in English, bemuses me because there is no merit to these statements. STHS is a terrific school striving towards higher standards yearly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2013

This scool is awwsum! I learned so much from this scool! The akademmics are top-knotch! I wennt to this scool and I learned soo much, especcally in englich and gramar. Am so todally sending my children to this scool! Am proud to bee a Santa Teresa gratuade! Blakk, Wite, Loyal forrever!


Posted May 15, 2012

I can't even begin to tell you how disappointed I am in our school district. Where to begin... we moved here thinking our children would be in a district that was rated higher than average. Well not so much. The teachers barely speak English, the principal said... Your kids will know they are different here.... REALLY?? Extracurricular activites well needless to say... They do not exist here. This has been the worst experience in a school I could have imagined. To top it off the school is so poor, that they are now charging the kids a dollar to see the nurse. You have to be kidding me?? This school district is absurd. We have tried to speak with the superintendent. Well he has been too busy to call us back the 4 times we have called. If I was you, I would never think of sending your kids to school here. Move away... That is what we are doing. Selling the house and moving to a district that has some motivation for children. Besides horrible leadership and horrible teachers; this school should be shut down!!!! This will not let you give less than one star. Sad I know, not even one star worthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

I go to this school the level of academics is the best in the district our current report card delivered after state testing was a b the faculty thought this was great but not good enough they laucned a campaign every teacher in school has badges tht say Be the chAnge meaning change from a B to an A. The teachers are all amazing thy do not let any one do the bare minumum.


Posted March 2, 2012

I was a student at Santa Teresa High School. I graduated in 2007 and I do not believe that STHS prepared most of its students for a college education or for the workforce. I am currently a college student. I was a top ten percent student. I took pre-calculus, received an "A" in the course and when I joined the university I am currently attending I placed into pre-calculus. I should have placed into calculus since I had already taken pre-calculus. Why did I receive an "A" in the high school but wasn't able to pass the test at the university? Take into mind too that this was an honors class. The regular math classes were a lot worse. Many of the friends that I had that were taking Algebra two said that some of the teachers made the tests real easy and that the the teacher didn't put effort into teaching them. The band program was real good when I was there, but I don't know about now since they have a new band teacher. There were some teachers that really cared about students like some of the science teachers I had. My pre calulus teacher seemed like he cared too, but a lot of the kids were not prepared for the material. STHS needs a lot more college preparation for kids.


Posted September 10, 2009

Great school and my peers are also great. I highly recommend this school to everybody. Keeps gettin better and better everyday!! Just love it a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

Its such a wounderful school. Kids enjoy and have wounderful experiences out of this school. Its just simply the best high school in nm
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Santa Teresa High School is the Best! The staff is wonderful and the students are the nicest kids I have ever meet. My children are very happy in this small school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 40% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students35%
Female35%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities6%
English Language Learner Current7%
English Language Learner Exited41%

Reading

All Students46%
Female51%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities0%
English Language Learner Current10%
English Language Learner Exited51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students55%
Female54%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities21%
English Language Learner Current18%
English Language Learner Exited65%

Reading

All Students51%
Female57%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities28%
English Language Learner Current16%
English Language Learner Exited59%

Science

All Students35%
Female27%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities18%
English Language Learner Current4%
English Language Learner Exited38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2011.

316 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

316 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2011.

316 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 47% in 2011.

316 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students47%
Female44%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners20%

Reading

All Students48%
Female48%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners18%

Science

All Students29%
Female23%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners9%

Social Studies

All Students36%
Female28%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 98% 58%
White 2% 25%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 13%
Asian 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 100%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Airport Road
Santa Teresa, NM 88008
Website: Click here
Phone: (575) 589-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Chaparral High School
Chaparral, NM




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT