Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
White Rock, NM
Students enrolled: 376

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and staff at pi on elementary are exemplary. Mrs. Gonzales, is a dynamic principle who strongly believes that all children should be treated with respect and kindness. I love this school!

Pinon Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Pinon school is a wonderful place that both of our children have enjoyed going to. The teachers are caring and always offer lots of extra help for ALL students. There are a lot of group activities and clubs for the kids to participate in. The amount of homework in 6th grade seems to be a little excessive, especially compared to the other elementary schools.


Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a parent
All of my children attended Pinon Elementary. It is a GREAT school. The entire staff is there to support the kids. They have high expectations but have the tools in place to help everyone achieve those expectations. The teachers are some of the best in the district. The new principal is awesome!

Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
My child has has special needs and this school goes out of its way to support my child and help my child succeed academically and socially. The teachers and administrators truly care for all of the children at this school. If moving to Los Alamos County, I suggest moving to this school's district. You won't be disappointed!

Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2006
- a parent
We have three children at Pinon. They have always had outstanding teachers, with two exceptions, who were still good. The amount of individual attention received by each student from the teachers and the entire staff is terrific. We have high expectations for our kids in school, and the teachers do, too. They work with us to see that our kids do their best. It's a terrific school!

Pinon Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
(Response to the feedback above) Welcome to Los Alamos Public Schools! Each school in the Los Alamos School District has (or should have) the same rigorous academic standards. LAPS is one of the highest performing districts in the state. To maintain this quality of education, your student might have to work on homework in the evenings and give up a few other things. Pinon and Barranca alternate between being the highest performing school in the district. Maybe that is why you found it different (and more difficult) there.

Pinon Elementary School 2

Posted March 27, 2006
- a parent
Our child was top of his class at Aspen in one grade, and went straight to the bottom at Pinon in the next grade due to its excessively high standards. Yes, they do great as a school on tests, but some of the kids are left behind because of the emphasis on school credentials, as usual. A great school if your child is already a genius. Our child has no time for extracurricular activities and has to go to 2 tutors to try and catch up. Our child is a very hard worker and learns very quickly, but has still not caught up. Parent involvement may be up to 2 hours per night of homework, even if the student understands some of the work ahead of time. We are strict with our child, and find that the teachers often expect much more than that.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pinon Elementary School
90 Grand Canyon Dr, White Rock, NM  87544
(505) 663-2230
Last modified Pinon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pinon Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top