Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Scotland Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
New Scotland is the very Best school around. I love the diversity and the teachers here. Theres always someone willing to help and they're great with keeping the family involved.

New Scotland Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
NSES has been extremely good to my children in regards to their education and their balance view on teaching the children on how to tolerate various backrounds that children come from, etc. That's what you call preparing them for the real work force they will face as adults. Teachers are highly qualified and very involved in motivating children with challenging academic studies. Principal leadership is strong. I will suggest though a lot less time focusing on personal parties and more activities that will involve and bring ALL children together, which will boost the self confidence in children. Personal parties belong home not on school time. I will definitely highly recommend NSES to anyone!


New Scotland Elementary School 3

Posted June 03, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

New Scotland Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2006
- a parent
My children both go to School 19. The teachers are great. The parents are really involved with the school.When I send my children too school I don't worry about their safety. Thank goodness that is our neighborhood school. Because I would not want to send them anywhere else.

New Scotland Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


New Scotland Elementary School 3

Posted March 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

New Scotland Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2005
- a parent
I have 3 children, my oldest went all the way through 6th grade and my other two are currently attending. I have been very happy with our school experience. There is a great group of parents who are very involved in the school. The faculty has been very open to parent communication.

New Scotland Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2005
- a parent
My daughter has been at school 19 for two years now. It is one of, if not the top rated elementry school in the city of Albany. Academics are the focal point here, and in this area the school has served us incredibly well. Personally I like the policies that focus on school work and study over school as an entertainment source. Conversely though, perhaps because of this focus, this single minded purpose, the teachers and staff (and even alot of the parents)seem to be constantly sedate, authoritarian, if not downright sour. There is no sense of real fun or excitement to education at this school, more a sense of duty.


New Scotland Elementary School 4

Posted November 28, 2004
- a parent
I was surprised to read the negative words about this school. The principal of this school has always responded immediately to my concerns. Granted.. This school does not coddle children and allow excuses; if your child has a problem the staff will work with you to resolve it, but they are not allowing a child to act out on a regular basis in order to accomodate 'special needs'

New Scotland Elementary School 3

Posted November 09, 2004
- a parent
Many teachers in this school are mean. The principal treat you as if your a second class citizen if you have a complaint. If you are a parent of a child with special needs I would recommend you find another school. Your complaints will not be considered valid.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Scotland Elementary School
369 New Scotland Ave, Albany, NY  12208
(518) 475-6775
Last modified New Scotland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Scotland Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top