Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 4

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
TOAST is located in a highly segregated part of Albany, and thus, lacks the diversity that is trully representative of the city of Albany. That being said, I highly recommend sending your child there instead of on of the exclusive private schools, where only well-to-do people need apply, in order for their child to be instantly recognized by an Ivy league school, not based based on merit, but instead, by their social status. It's sickening, I know. It may come as a shock to you that the city of Albany practices segregation (what city doesn't?) through housing projects and neglect of disused and misused properties that are located on realestate that happens to surround the school, and, that the childen attending the school, mostly do so out of convienence of location,as opposed to actually wanting to attend a science and technology school. But, if your child is into science and technology, they will easily accel and instantly be recognized by the nurturing faculty that wants to see your child succeed in such a non-nurturing environment that the school is surrounded by. I love TOAST, and feel the school is much overlooked due to the conditions I described above.

Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 0
no rating

Posted January 15, 2010
- a parent
Absolutely hated it! The teacher was incompetent, the principal was unwilling to help, resources were non-available. We would never send a child there again!


Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 0
no rating

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
The faculty are always there for the children, there are multiple enriching programs both within school hours and after school-it is a great community

Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 5

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a teacher
a group of extremely dedicated teachers who make their students their priority


Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2009
- a parent
We love the teachers, staff and curriculum!

Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2009
- a parent
Thomas O'Brien Academy of Science & Technology (or better known as TOAST) is a great magnet school. The science and technology curriculum especially is top notch. The teachers and staff (and parents!) are dedicated.

Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school chose for the Albany City School District. Currently we have a new principal who has been with us for one full year and we already see an improvement. Our school has undergone renovation and this has displaced us (meaning we are not in our building) - yet still we perservere. Come Jan 2010 we will be back in our building and the party will begin. Our students are excited as well as their parents. We now desire to have this excitement disperse into the community...come see TOAST


Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a teacher
We have been through a lot in the past year with some much needed renovations and we're still smiling!

Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
I've been part of the TOAST community for 20 years and with each year, new and exciting activities and accomplishments enrich our Science and Technology magnet curriculum. We've received positive recognition for our programs and ideas and developed innovative solutions to each challenge.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech
94 Delaware Ave, Albany, NY  12202
(518) 475-6875
Last modified Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas S O Brien Academy Of Science And Tech Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top