Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William S Hackett Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 589 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

Hackett is a Great school long-lasting friendships are built and there are some pretty great teachers. I love Hackett !


Posted May 28, 2013

I loved being at this school instead of some of the rubbish private schools my parents tried sending me to. The teachers were excellent and they cared more about their students on a deeper level. At Hackett i felt at home, everyone was accepting of each other and respectful.


Posted October 5, 2010

This school has a new principal who seems to be working 12 hours a day and implementing innovative new ideas to make this a great school. The historic renovated building is gorgeous. LIke all schools, there is a mix in quality of teachers, but there are more extremely dedicated teachers than average. There are many disadvantaged kids at this school, and I have always seen the teachers take a real interest in each and every one of them. There are lots of extracurricular and social events activities for those students that want to take advantage of them. One of the negatives of this school is that it can have a rigid atmosphere., and there are many security staff roaming the halls. It is a large school, which can be intimidating for some kids. Classes tend to be on the small side, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

My daughter is graduating from Hackett this year. She was only here for one year but she loved it and made many new friends. They have a new principal this year and he is really impressive. The only reason I don't give this school 5 stars is the lack of transportation. I was not trilled about having my daughter take city buses with a transfer to get to and back from school. But she really likes that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

My name is Elisha Ravenna and I graduated from Hackett in 2004! I love this School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2007

I love hacket. I went there last year and my sister used to go there. As good as the teachers are at myers they could never compare to the teachers I had at hackett. Hackett is the greatest school that I ever attended.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2006

I used to teach at this school. It has many extracurricular activities for an urban middle school. The teachers are dedicated too. Parents are involved with programs but it is always the same people doing everything.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 11, 2004

I think this is one of the worst schools in the district. Some of the teachers do not know how to maintain a healthy adult child relationship. They discuss their person relationship problems with the students, they curse and disrespect themselves and the students. My children(3) attend because I do not have a choice. There is little tolerance or nurturing in the school. Individual needs are not met or care about.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

245 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

245 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

269 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
22%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
20%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 53% 19%
White 1 20% 48%
Hispanic 2 16% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 10% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 286%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 14%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Paolino

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45 Delaware Ave
Albany, NY 12202
Phone: (518) 475-6475

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Free School
Albany, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT