Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Magnet School

Public | PK-5 | 328 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2013

This school is so well run! The teachers are engaged and responsive. The administration is responsive. The children are very well behaved, even during the most chaotic time of the day--during lunch. My daughter is reading and doing adding and subtraction--note--she is in preK! She has made great friends and is very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The teachers at MMS work so hard to try to help each and every child be successful. They also put tons of time into special projects and creative endeavors that help our kids be well-rounded learner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The Albany Montessori Magnet School in Albany, NY is wonderful place to learn because of our teachers, teacher assistants, principal, other professional and support staff, stong family involvement, diversity and our incredibly great students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

All three of my children have attended MMS since they were in Pre-Kindergarten. They are motivating, managed independent learners who thrive in school. They are strong readers and writers and get along well with others. I love MMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I have written a review before on Graet Schools regarding Montessori Magnet elementary school in Albany, NY. I have had two children attend Albany's Montessori Magnet Elementary School, Both have attended the school since pre-k. Currently one is in sixth grade at Meyers Middle School in Albany with a 97 average and the other is in fourth grade earning exceptional grades. For three years running, MMS has been awarded by the NYS Education Department. Both of my children receive(d) excellent guidance and mentoring. In my experience, the teachers have gone above and beyond to assist all students in meeting their goals. The community and culture that surrounds the school and that the school creates is a valuable asset to the Albany community. The methods used at MMS are a great mix of the Montessori teaching methods and the NYS required teaching curriculum. I'm proud my children have had the opportunity to go to MMS, and I wouldn't have made a different choice. The skills and values they have learned at Montessori Magnet support what we teach our children at home and have prepared them to excel in their journey through school and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I have three children at this school, the oldest in third grade, middle in 1st, and the youngest in Pre-K. We've been fortunate to be involved with the school since my oldest was in Pre-K. Our whole family loves this school. The teachers are amazing people who not only love their jobs, but also the children they teach. The administration is supportive of both the staff and parents. In the community that is part of the school, we've found life long friends. It's an amazing place for learning and to watch your children grow. We are especially thrilled to have the combination of the Montessori education and a public school, a rare occurrence in not only the US, but world wide. We consider ourselves fortunate to have our children learn and grow at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

It is student centered, so they learn how to interact with each other and their world. It provides exposure to national and international cutural events, which is very important in today's global community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My children both graduated from the Montessori Magnet School. They both frequently refer to their time at Montessori as being a cataliyst for their love and learning and for instilling a high level of intrinsic motivation to do good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Very happy with the approach to education. Kids seem to get it more deeply than at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great school, great team of teachers, both of my kids just love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I retired as the school's secretary 2 years ago. I wouldn't have my grandchildren attend any other school! The staff is the best and you couldn't find a better parent organization than the ones that MMS has!


Posted April 27, 2010

MMS is a wonderful place with committed leadership, teachers, and parents who all come together to create a fantastic educational community that stimulates curiosity, creativity, kindness and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

My Grandson attend's MMS. He is in 3rd grade and has been there since pre-k. This school is off the charts in excellance. The teacher's are just fantastic. They are always there to help the students. They take pride each and every day in thier classes. And the security in this school is so tight, you have no worries at all in any unauthroized persons getting in. I would like to 'Thank' them all for the excellant jobs they do. I wish schools and teacher's were like this 45 years ago.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 44% 48%
Black 2 33% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 11% 9%
Hispanic 1 11% 23%
Two or more races 2 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 20%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ken Lein

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65 Tremont St
Albany, NY 12206
Website: Click here
Phone: (518) 475-6675

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT