Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sand Creek Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 846 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2013

The students are hard working and enjoy coming to school. The teachers and staff are dedicated professionals. This is a 5-8 middle school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 16, 2011

Our Children were in 3rd & 5th grade when we moved to South Colonie. Our daughter was in Forest Park for 2yrs. We were very happy with the staff & the school in general. Our son started in Sand Creek new to the district. We were a little concerned about him being in middle school. We thought he would have one more year in elementary school. As far as it being middle school everything went well. Sand Creek handles things very well as far as the 5th graders having pretty much 0 contact with the older children. I know that my children are safe. We did not see eye to eye with the teacher but that happens everywhere. We have had some challenges with our son, The Principal, Assistant Principal as well as other staff have been very helpful and supportive over the years. Our children are now in 5th & 7th. This is our 3rd and final school district and we are very happy with our experiences so far with South Colonie School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Sand Creek has the highest quality teachers around.


Posted September 16, 2009

I have been in Sand Creek since 5th grade. I am now in 7th grade and i have to say this is the best school. We have a non-bully program, a festival, and the best field trips in the whole wide world!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

i've been in SCMS since 5th grade (when the middle school starts) and im in 7th grade now.this school is amazing and i love it.you couldnt find a better school.the teachers are very involved and the people are wonderful.they have a bullying program so their is like no bullying.with the bullying program, the teachers are very happy to talk to the students about problems that they have with people or things bothering them.as a students point of view this school is very good.they have many activities such as softball, lacross, basketball, baseball, vollyball, etc.excellent.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2009

i go to this school. im in 7th grade. and i love it. it couldnt get any better
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2006

This school has good potential but is generally undisciplined in it's approach. When I go to this school, I find that confusion is the order of the day. They do have processes in place but nobody really seems aware of them and they are not followed in a uniform manner. Overall I feel that this school strives for mediocrity and almost attains it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

My daughter's experience at Sand Creek Middle School has always been a nuturing ,positive learning enviroment. I commend all of the educators that I have personally dealt with.Their priority is your child's potential and through a team effort,(student,teacher,parent)any setback has a solution and there is always extra help for any child that is willing to work hard to improve their grades. My daughter has grown in many positive ways. Her fourth and final year is coming up next school year and I know she has a solid foundation academically through her hard work and all the hard work of all the educator's that guided her all the way.As a parent, I am very involved as well, I do take some credit too. The bottom line is TEAMWORK. I will always be grateful to teachers and administrators that chose this profession. Sand Creek Middle School is a excellent learning institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 75% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 8% 9%
Black 2 8% 19%
Hispanic 1 6% 23%
Two or more races 2 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 226%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 27%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • David Perry

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

329 Sand Creek Rd
Albany, NY 12205
Phone: (518) 459-1333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT