Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of the Holy Names Upper

Private | 9-12 | 191 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Albany

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

My daughter is currently a junior at AHN. The school is expensive but I do feel it is worth it. The college counseling is superb and the writing preparation for college is excellent. The one problem I have is the quality of the math program. My daughter struggles with math and is in the math lab but I still find it necessary to hire an outside tutor. Overall, my daughter is happy at Holy Names and if we had to do it over we wouldn't change our decision to send her there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

I am a recent graduate now attending a 4-year college. The language arts and writing programs at Holy Names are excellent. I was very well-prepared for college-level papers, presentations, etc. The math and science departments need serious improvement. I am a science major and I can say that I was not well-prepared for calculus, chemistry, or physics. The exception to this is biology, for which I was exceptionally well-prepared.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

I had an excellent experience at this school. I was more than prepared for college and saw other students struggling with things I completed in high school at Holy Names. I continue to be friends with the women I graduated with and would recommend this school to anyone who wants a good education for their daughter.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2007

My daughter did not get a very good education here. The math and science instruction is awful. In hindsight, public school would have been a much better choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

While the academic program and extracurriculars are of good quality, this school ultimately is more trouble than it's worth. The administration is bogus and up-tight, and the environment is so sheltering that the girls were utterly unprepared for the outside, 'real' world.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 20, 2005

Every parent can be involved! Great school. Good location right in the outskirts of Albany/Slingerlands. Great sports (colonial council). All girls so there is no distraction of boys in the classroom. Private. Roman Catholic. Student/Teacher ratio is excellent. Never more than 25 in a class. Modular schuedle. Excellent Principal. A little pricey$, but well worth it. My daughter is well prepared for college. Math & Writing skills learned are excellent. Language dept. needs some work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter graduated from Holy Names a year ago. She is now in her second year of college and so prepared that she is editing fellow students' papers. I have two daugters who have graduated from Holy Names and I can assure any parent that is considering this option, their daughter will leave a strong and sucessful woman. Costly....but well worth it
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Anne Vigliante
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1075 New Scotland Rd
Albany, NY 12208
Phone: (518) 438-7895

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lasalle School
Albany, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT