Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 4 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Free School 4

Posted March 11, 2012
- a community member
Help... I filled out the waiting list and we are looking for a spot in first grade for the fall (2012-2013 school year) has anyone else been on the wait list and gotten in?? So worried, LOVE how the school sounds and offers we really hope to get in, but have to figure out something before this year ends...email at wtpooh831 at America On Line thx!

The Free School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a community member
This school loves children. Teaches from the heart how to care for oneself genuinely and one another, reaching for joy, births curiosity about everything and quests and respects the truth.


The Free School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
The Free School offered my daughter the opportunities to learn real leadership skills, self-responsibility, and discernment. As a teenager she is self-assured and self-motivated to pursue a rigorous academic program. The Free School continues to be a great community with a long tradition of ongoing care, support, and life long friendships.

The Free School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My daughter went to the Free School for eight years...it is still our spiritual home...best school ever!

The Free School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
The Free School gave my kids solid ground to live in the world and enjoy and relate to all kinds of people, all ages, sizes, colors and classes. Both my children are engaged adults who love to learn all the time, and love to have fun with others.


The Free School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
It gives kids the tools to think critically and solve problems. They are able to ask for help but figure things out for themselves, rather than just learning to do what they're told.

The Free School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Both of my kids, ages 7 and 3, attend the Free School and I love it just as much as they do. The Free School fosters the spirit of childhood while also instilling the basis for a lifetime of inquisitiveness and learning. Free School kids learn to navigate the world and get the most out of life.

The Free School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
encourages the kids to be strong independent thinkers and it honors, never suppresses, their feelings. Their methods produce children who know how to direct and take charge of their own lives. At the same time, the kids learn how to acknowledge, communicate and deal with, their own emotions as well as those of the people they interact with.


The Free School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
it is an amazing place, where children learn the responsibilities of freedom, where they can play and be kids and where children take charge of their lives

The Free School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
All four of my children have learned to LOVE LIFE at the Albany Free School. The school incorporates all of our families into the community. We ARE the proverbial Village raising the children. We ARE the Albany Free School!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Free School
8 Elm Street, Albany, NY  12202
(518) 434-3072
Last modified The Free School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Free School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top