Advertisement
Advertisement

Bet Shraga Hebrew Academy

Private | K-8 | 107 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albany

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $164,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2013

The new multi-age integrated curriculum is AMAZING! I am so impressed. The first month was pretty much evaluating the students to see where they are so they can really implement this new strategy of 'teaching to the child'. The kids are not sitting in class bored while the teacher helps ONE child who is lagging. The first Friday schoolwide oneg was a big hit with the kids all in their school shirts singing together with parents at a special Israeli style luncheon provided by Parent Org. The food was so amazing I thought they hired a professional caterer - turned out one of the moms made it! We have lots of talent! The middle schoolers have combined their field trips so all three grades are going together to each of the trips which gives the kids more opportunities to apply their learning in the real world. They will all go to TEVA Learning Center to experience nature this fall and learn more about making our school eco-friendly. They just completed the ropes course together last week and had a blast. The middle school group has already become a tight knit family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Hebrew Acadamy is a wonderful school with a warm, caring staff. The new multi-age learning program allows each child to learn at the pace and level that is right for them. Both of my children love the school and the love of learning the school fosters is clear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Wonderful, high quality, challenging education by teachers who truly care about encouraging each child to stretch as far as they can through individualized teaching methods. Warm, safe family/community atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

Hebrew Academy is great and getting better all the time. The teachers are excellent, the courses challenging, and the Jewish values which are taught are those which I share. Students leaving Hebrew Academy are far ahead of their high school counterparts. The school is a great value for all that the students get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Hebrew Academy is an excellent school. I have my three children in the school and am very impressed with the outstanding academic atmosphere. My older child's class is more than one year ahead in Math and Science than public school kids. He will have 3 Regents exams this year... before High School! The teacher/student ratio makes for a very attentive environment, and the administration is receptive to concerns. In the past, this has not always been the case, but the new Head of School is AMAZING! My children are in a safe environment with their peers, and have felt comfortable with the level of Jewish education- it was never imposed on them or us. I am grateful there are things they can learn at school that I could never offer them at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

The school is amazing. The children come out well ahead of kids in any other school. The teachers use many different methods and emphasize academic learning and critical thinking in a variety of ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

Hebrew Academy's strength is its teachers. They are of the highest quality and use a variety of methods and approaches to instill a desire to learn in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 52%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rami Strosberg
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • SSDSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

54 Sand Creek Rd
Albany, NY 12205
Phone: (518) 482-0464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT