Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brighter Choice Charter School for Boys

Charter | K-4 | 274 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albany

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $98,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 27, 2014

My GF teaches there and I hope she gets out of there. The rules are unbelievable and the morale is terrible. Every day a little bit of her soul is being sucked out of her. I hate that place.


Posted October 28, 2012

i feel that this year, i see more progress with my sons, and that is a direct result of great teacher, and a positive education system. that the brighter choice charter school provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

Oh their transportation situation is atrocious! They don't discipline AT ALL for behaviors that occur on the bus. Great school otherwise. Just pick up your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

My daughter was crying when she came off the bus this evening, nothing new (they make the boys and girls ride home together for Troy-I know DUMB). She said it was such a loud bus ride and the kids completely ignored anything the driver said. The driver threatens to get them kicked off the bus but never does. The academics on the surface appear superior but it really seems as if they teach to kids to do well on specific tests, not to KNOW the work. it's as if teaching someone to play "Stairway to Heaven" on guitar by going over each note over and over again. Eventually you'll be great at that song but you wouldn't know much else. Some thing is going on at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

BCCSB has turned out to be the premier single gender elementary school in Albany NY, many other Charter schools have come and gone and some are still around struggling , but BCCSB is still here staying true to their mission and do very well.I have 10 year old that was scheduled to attend another charter middle school this year and has made his own decision of saying " DAD i want to graduate from BRIGHTER CHOICE!" , to me that says it all !! not to mention his test scores increase every year!! I am very very proud to tell others that my child attends BRIGHTER CHOICE SCHOOL FOR BOYS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

I love everything about BCCB when my son first started school it was just BCCS & he had a lot of behavior problems& I thought the answer was to remove him from the school feeling that the could'nt handle him. But talking with his now principal he assured that it would get better I must say he truly stood on his word. Now 4yrs later my son is strong in academics & is growing into a great young man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I cannot believe how much my son have learned since he's been there. He is so excited about going to school, and always willing to learn. On weekends, he can't wait to go back to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

The teachers do not know how to deal with children with disabilities. So before you decide to send you child to this school and if this is an indication of how charter schools are ran, I would definately think twice or three times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I loved BCCS when my son first started going there. Now I can say I like it. I like the fact that the staff knows who I am and whose mother I am when I arrive. I like that, although, the teachers may change, that they all share the same values. A lot about the school has changed since it opened but majority of the change was for the better. I am waiting patiently for the fourth grade scores to come back, so that the school can be recognized by the city as a successful charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 98% 19%
Hispanic 2 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 0%N/A49%
Male 100%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 191%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 11%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Darryl Williams
Gender
  • All boys

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

116 N Lake Ave
Albany, NY 12206
Website: Click here
Phone: (518) 694-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT