Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Amityville, NY
Students enrolled: 705

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Amityville Memorial High School 5

Posted December 13, 2013
- a student
This school is the greatest school on earth. The teachers work hard and many of them spend afterschool hours helping students. The student body is close knit, and bullying isn't a huge issue. I loved going to this school because of its uniqueness in comparison to other schools on long island. It is predominately a black school, however almost every culture is represented. There are so many wonderful school events and activities. I was president of the class of 2013 and this school undoubtedly had the best impact on my life now as a college student. I loved it here I wish I could go back!

Amityville Memorial High School 1

Posted April 16, 2013
- a parent
I currently moved into the Massapequa area, but my school district is the Amityville district. In order to give the school a fair chance, I decided to ask for a walkthrough of the high school. My experience was horrible. A great school starts with great leadership and this school has NO LEADERSHIP. The Assistant Principal showed a great deal of disrespect to new parents. I was not only shocked but appalled at his comments. The staff was very friendly, but I was amazed to see the number of students walking in the hallways in comparison to the number students in the classrooms. There are no enforced dress code and conduct policies. It is very upsetting to see students in a beautifully kept environment with no type of formal education being provided. I was informed about the great Catholic Schools in the area from neighboring homes.


Amityville Memorial High School 2

Posted February 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Amityville Memorial High School 3

Posted February 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Amityville Memorial High School 1

Posted September 10, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Amityville Memorial High School 5

Posted July 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Amityville Memorial High School 4

Posted May 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Amityville Memorial High School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
amityville memorial school is outstanding in many ways because of racial diversity, excellence in academics and no tolerance for illegal activity. the closest high school called massapequa high school is a horrible school that only cares about sports and has more illegal activity then learning if youre child is supposed to go there move to amityville school district trust me.


Amityville Memorial High School 1

Posted April 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Amityville Memorial High School 3

Posted March 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amityville Memorial High School
250 Merrick Road, Amityville, NY  11701
(631) 565-6100
Last modified Amityville Memorial High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Amityville Memorial High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top