Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amsterdam High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1110 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2013

I'm a freshman and my experience so far is below average. This school clearly has problems to patch. For example, the school focuses too much on sports (especially on football) than extracurricular activities and classes. Speaking of classes, most of which aren't very helpful, accelerated classes aren't really teaching challenging material, and don't get me started on Spanish. Spanish classes drag at a very slow pace and most kids who finish taking it do not become a native speaker of the language. Heck, why is it the only language? What if we want to learn something else? Anyway, lunches are also terrible. Although there are plenty of food options, you don't get enough food for the rest of the school day. Last but not least, confrontations are not uncommon nor is the neglect of staff when it comes to help. The only good things about this school would be extra class options, the band (which is one of the best in the area), and the advisory periods.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2013

My experience was alright..but the Puerto Rican graduation rate gotta be higher..I know out of all my vatos in school i was the only one to graduate on time..The Italian and other white ethnic groups have respectable grad rates..


Posted September 13, 2012

My daughter graduated from here this past June of 2012. Not once during her time at this school did she have any trouble. She got good grades, was respectful to teachers, staff and fellow students and just pretty much got along with people. That's really all it takes. If you're out to cause trouble, well then, of course, it will find you. This school is NOWHERE near as bad as it's circulated reputation. For a bigger school, yes you would think it would be more problematic, but again, that's a rumor. It's actually a pretty decent place to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

this school has a lot to offer students.they don't have a very good reputation because of a couple of kids behavior issues. amsterdam is a great school with great teachers. it is not even close to as bad as people will say it is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2009

I'm an alumni of AHS class of 2008 and I honestly don't think its as bad as people say. However, i think there should be a greater focus on academics than on athletics. There should be more courses offered for college credit and more of a focus on preparing students for college. In the first days of my college courses I could tell that I wasn't as prepared as many of my classmates. Im a pre-medical major and I do not feel like I was properly prepared and if there was a better focus on science and encouraging the students in these courses, there would be more successful graduates. And I was a member of the Marching Rams and really, the band does not get enough credit. I guarentee that half the critics of the band wouldnt be able to last a 1/4 mile in a parade...


Posted November 5, 2008

This school isn't as bad as everyone is making it out to be. I am a Senior in this High School and yes it may have some problems but it is not the majority of the kids. Also our football team is very good but it is true that more attention is put towards it then any of the other programs. I am a member of the AWARD WINNING Amsterdam Marching Rams. If you think we are the best I think you should get out more and come see our overflowing trophy cases.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

I believe that this school is not as bad has it is made out to be. My children have done well and stayed away from the problems. I think that all schools have problems and its the parents responsiblty to give advice and guidance and keep them focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

I am surprised on how this school is concerned more wih their football team, than the students academic progress and safety. My son is a senior,and has struggled through the fours years he's been there. On several occassions I have visited his counselor,which is not an easy task, cause she is not there or too busy to see a parent. The counselors do not take the time to listen to the students. My son has a tutor not affiliated with the school to help him with english class. As for the safety, my son had a confrontation in the school, he decided to see the asst.principle for help and no help was provided. I agree with other parents when they say 'just get out of the school district'. I have two other children entering middle school, I'm already looking into other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

We do not have one of the best bands around. It's just that people from Amsterdam don't take time to listen to other bands. The band is decent, but aside from that, the language program is pathetic. Not a single student leaves the program with the confidence to speak to a native speaker of their studied language. That should be the aim.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I don't know where you come up with the drop out rate, cuz it is not nearly as high of some of the surronding schools! There is a very good music program and language program. We have one of the best bands around! It is more worse now than it was before, but so is every other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I am baffled by the review which gives 4 out of 5 stars for Amsterdam High School. Instruction is poor at best, with Biology being the only exception, classroom atmosphere is hostile. There are no language programs or music programs for children of a higher intellect, and an astronomical dropout rate. Misconduct and disruptive behavoir is not addressed due to political correctness, and parents who are truly committed to their children having a decent education, but cannot afford private school are wringing their hands in desperation. Quite frankly, if one is considering moving into this district, I would strongly disadvise unless of course you are moving from the inner city. We are desperate to move our children out as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

Great ethnic diversity. Hispanic, White, Mulatto, Italian, Polish, Asian, etc. SES variable to low. What potential. Lots of school pride, mainly in sports, but could easily transition to other school activities. Students are hungry for 'something to do' and to have a genuine connection to the world immediately around them.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
79%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
67%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students65%
Female55%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant65%

Chemistry

All Students62%
Female58%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant62%

Earth Science

All Students63%
Female60%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities25%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%

English

All Students70%
Female72%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities33%
General population76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%

Geometry

All Students66%
Female65%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%

Global History and Geography

All Students51%
Female47%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities11%
General population58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant51%

Integrated Algebra

All Students60%
Female59%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities19%
General population69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant60%

Living Environment

All Students60%
Female58%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities31%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant60%

Physics

All Students52%
Female55%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant52%

U.S. History and Government

All Students76%
Female68%
Male85%
African American77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities32%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 62% 48%
Hispanic 2 32% 23%
Black 1 5% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 20%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID W. ZISKIN

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

140 Saratoga Ave
Amsterdam, NY 12010
Phone: (518) 843-4932

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT