Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amsterdam High School

Public | 9-12 | 1110 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2013

I'm a freshman and my experience so far is below average. This school clearly has problems to patch. For example, the school focuses too much on sports (especially on football) than extracurricular activities and classes. Speaking of classes, most of which aren't very helpful, accelerated classes aren't really teaching challenging material, and don't get me started on Spanish. Spanish classes drag at a very slow pace and most kids who finish taking it do not become a native speaker of the language. Heck, why is it the only language? What if we want to learn something else? Anyway, lunches are also terrible. Although there are plenty of food options, you don't get enough food for the rest of the school day. Last but not least, confrontations are not uncommon nor is the neglect of staff when it comes to help. The only good things about this school would be extra class options, the band (which is one of the best in the area), and the advisory periods.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2013

My experience was alright..but the Puerto Rican graduation rate gotta be higher..I know out of all my vatos in school i was the only one to graduate on time..The Italian and other white ethnic groups have respectable grad rates..


Posted September 13, 2012

My daughter graduated from here this past June of 2012. Not once during her time at this school did she have any trouble. She got good grades, was respectful to teachers, staff and fellow students and just pretty much got along with people. That's really all it takes. If you're out to cause trouble, well then, of course, it will find you. This school is NOWHERE near as bad as it's circulated reputation. For a bigger school, yes you would think it would be more problematic, but again, that's a rumor. It's actually a pretty decent place to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

this school has a lot to offer students.they don't have a very good reputation because of a couple of kids behavior issues. amsterdam is a great school with great teachers. it is not even close to as bad as people will say it is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2009

I'm an alumni of AHS class of 2008 and I honestly don't think its as bad as people say. However, i think there should be a greater focus on academics than on athletics. There should be more courses offered for college credit and more of a focus on preparing students for college. In the first days of my college courses I could tell that I wasn't as prepared as many of my classmates. Im a pre-medical major and I do not feel like I was properly prepared and if there was a better focus on science and encouraging the students in these courses, there would be more successful graduates. And I was a member of the Marching Rams and really, the band does not get enough credit. I guarentee that half the critics of the band wouldnt be able to last a 1/4 mile in a parade...


Posted November 5, 2008

This school isn't as bad as everyone is making it out to be. I am a Senior in this High School and yes it may have some problems but it is not the majority of the kids. Also our football team is very good but it is true that more attention is put towards it then any of the other programs. I am a member of the AWARD WINNING Amsterdam Marching Rams. If you think we are the best I think you should get out more and come see our overflowing trophy cases.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

I believe that this school is not as bad has it is made out to be. My children have done well and stayed away from the problems. I think that all schools have problems and its the parents responsiblty to give advice and guidance and keep them focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

I am surprised on how this school is concerned more wih their football team, than the students academic progress and safety. My son is a senior,and has struggled through the fours years he's been there. On several occassions I have visited his counselor,which is not an easy task, cause she is not there or too busy to see a parent. The counselors do not take the time to listen to the students. My son has a tutor not affiliated with the school to help him with english class. As for the safety, my son had a confrontation in the school, he decided to see the asst.principle for help and no help was provided. I agree with other parents when they say 'just get out of the school district'. I have two other children entering middle school, I'm already looking into other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

We do not have one of the best bands around. It's just that people from Amsterdam don't take time to listen to other bands. The band is decent, but aside from that, the language program is pathetic. Not a single student leaves the program with the confidence to speak to a native speaker of their studied language. That should be the aim.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I don't know where you come up with the drop out rate, cuz it is not nearly as high of some of the surronding schools! There is a very good music program and language program. We have one of the best bands around! It is more worse now than it was before, but so is every other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I am baffled by the review which gives 4 out of 5 stars for Amsterdam High School. Instruction is poor at best, with Biology being the only exception, classroom atmosphere is hostile. There are no language programs or music programs for children of a higher intellect, and an astronomical dropout rate. Misconduct and disruptive behavoir is not addressed due to political correctness, and parents who are truly committed to their children having a decent education, but cannot afford private school are wringing their hands in desperation. Quite frankly, if one is considering moving into this district, I would strongly disadvise unless of course you are moving from the inner city. We are desperate to move our children out as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

Great ethnic diversity. Hispanic, White, Mulatto, Italian, Polish, Asian, etc. SES variable to low. What potential. Lots of school pride, mainly in sports, but could easily transition to other school activities. Students are hungry for 'something to do' and to have a genuine connection to the world immediately around them.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
79%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

212 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

319 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

293 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
67%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

253 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

272 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

263 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population65%

Chemistry

All Students61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population61%

Earth Science

All Students53%
Students with disabilities21%
General population60%

English

All Students85%
Students with disabilities54%
General population91%

Geometry

All Students83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Global History and Geography

All Students56%
Students with disabilities20%
General population64%

Integrated Algebra

All Students74%
Students with disabilities44%
General population79%

Living Environment

All Students70%
Students with disabilities36%
General population74%

Physics

All Students72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population72%

U.S. History and Government

All Students74%
Students with disabilities41%
General population81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 48%
Hispanic 32% 23%
Black 5% 19%
Asian 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 20%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID W. ZISKIN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

140 Saratoga Ave
Amsterdam, NY 12010
Phone: (518) 843-4932

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT