Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

1 star
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy 2

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
This school could be well on its way to creating a better environment for students with more challenging disabilities to assist them in remaining in a least restrictive environment setting.

Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy 1

Posted January 03, 2013
- a parent
All three of my children went here and I'm so sorry they did. The administration cares more about getting their families and friends jobs at the school than about the kids. The motto here is: this would be a great place to work if not for all these kids! They blame everything on the kids and their parents and they shun parental involvement. If schools cannot make a difference in a child's life, then why are my school taxes so high? Don't send your children here if you can help it.


Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
I am so glad i got my 5 sons away from this school i had 1 already in the high school and can hardly read they just pushed him on.I had 2 in the middle school and they was falling so far behind.Almost every day they watched fights after school and alot of times was brought in to the fighting.I have 2 others that have not made it to the middle school and and im so happy i got them out of amsterdam before they had to go to that school.That school cares more about sports then teaching what are kids really need to learn.If your kid is not in sports they dont care about them and just pass them on.My kids are so happy in the new school and would never go back to Amsterdam.

Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy 1

Posted June 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
There is to many kids in this school . There needs to be another public middle school to atleast split the kids in half


Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy 1

Posted January 28, 2007
- a parent
I think this school worries more about the dress code and how the sports teams are doing then how the students are doing.if a child is not doing there work or are getting poor grades they seem to pass it off as there just lazy or a bad kid instead of trying to find out why and if the child needs help. the school has a brand new football field but at the same time the school don't have enough books so that each kid can have one to use and take home to do work . the books they do have for the kids to use only while there in class because once again there are not enough to go around are all torn and old . I think this school need to look at the big picture witch is the kids.

Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy 2

Posted February 17, 2005
- a parent
Poor heat, torn and worn books. But look at the new football field. I think some people have the wrong idea about what the children need.

Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy 1

Posted September 18, 2004
- a parent
This school has changed a lot over the past few years. Summer school was like full session! Kids without seats. Standing to learn. Could that mean that so many children are behind because they cannot learn? Are they all learning disabled? I think not! School should be a safe place that a child looks forward to each day. Paint chipped walls but a brand new football field? Is this enviornment condusive to getting an education? In my opinion, this school is in need of improvement with or without the state standard of 'No child left behind' I am sure there are many positive things at the school..however...the bottom line is the State score! It tells the whole story.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy
55 Brandt Pl, Amsterdam, NY  12010
(518) 843-3716
Last modified Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy Rating: 1 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top