Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ardsley High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 708 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Ardsley gave me ALL the knowledge I required to get through life, and acquire a great career and wealth. My teachers in the 60's were NOT progressive liberals as they are now and DID impart an education that allowed me to go on to my engineering discipline and obtain many patents in the biomedical field. I value HIGHLY my education received from AHS and can recommend the school system to anyone who has children. I was not the best of students but they gave me ALL the building blocks I needed to acquire a great education. I never went to college bit amassed a portfolio and equity in my 67 years of life. I owe it ALL to my teachers of the 1960's. God Bless them all.


Posted October 25, 2013

I am a graduate of Ardsley High School and was extremely well prepared for the top college I attended. I recently relocated from another Northeast state in order to provide my daughter with the same quality education and community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2012

I think that Ardsley is a very good school and I feel very lucky to be going here! I just started high school and I feel like I'm getting an excellent education. The English and Science departments are impeccable! In English class, you do so much more than essay, you examine the human way of life and how it translates to text. Although not all teachers are amazing, the majority of teachers I've had have been excellent. Also, seniors this year are going to amazing schools like: Brown, Northwestern, Tulane, Yale, and Wesleyan. Great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2012

Ardsley schools are overrated. The administration is confrontational and not parent friendly at all. Administration does not seem to know what they are doing. Teachers are not that great. There are a lot of inexperienced teachers who do not appear to have much knowledge about teaching. The district is very political. Attend a board meeting and they argue for 1/2 hour over a $30 dollar budget item. If you are a student that has special needs, forget it - go elsewhere. Most students get pushed through system. Students are referred to as stars, standards and strugglers. Stars get the attention - everyone else little. Look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

After going through 4 years of college, I really appreciate what Ardsley did for me. I am graduating at the top of my college class and I never realized how great of an education I got. The teachers are top notch and I was very prepared for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2011

As an Ardsley graduate, I feel that I got a great education and was extremely prepared for college. Also, there were many extra-curricular activities and sports for me to participate in. That being said, I was an honors/AP student, so I was given the better teachers, avoiding many of the sub-par teachers at Ardsley. I think that students who are overachievers (including myself), fare best at Ardsley, while there are others who get left behind/ignored by the system.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

I graduated from Ardsley High School last year and went to a highly ranked university. Needless to say, Ardsley HS did provide me with excellent skills that I used in college. I was someone though who was an overachiever and Ardsley HS was great for that. I felt like my friends who didn't work as hard as I did had a rough time mainly because the school rewards kids who do well and sort of leaves kids who don't do as well behind. I also found that even though Ardsley isn't Scarsdale, the people I went to school with were a bit showy and snobby. I think the school system for me was good but being with kids who were so concerned about getting into Ivies and who were drinking most of the time took away a lot from the experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2009

I really enjoy Ardsley. I find that a lot of the teachers are great, and I think I'm getting a great education. Maybe I'm the 'overachiever' that the other reviews keep mentioning, but anyone who cares about learning can do well here. But, I do agree that many of the parents are out of their minds.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2007

Ardsley is a factory structured for the purpose of getting students into the best colleges. It is not an advanced institution teaching your child the importance of any other factors beyond grades. For me, teaching my children integrity, world knowledge, diversity and current events is essential. Ardsley is void of this. One of the contributing factors is the immense amount of politics within the Administration. Your child will get into college, but that is all they will achieve. I wanted more for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2006

I currently have two sons in ardsley high school and have been unhappy with this district since elementary school. It seems that the gifted child is their only focus, meanwhile the child with average intelligence is disregarded. Their is no effort or support given to these children leaving them feeling inadequate and inferior to their peers. Many of these children have a negative experience and do not enjoy learning. The district needs to address this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

good school for self motivated students who like to move with the herd. some very good teachers but overall is a very inflexible, conformist centric environment. the local demographic includes a large number of successful college-educated parents who instill the importance of a good education in their children. this is probably the main reason that the ardsley school system is so highly regarded. the teachers have the best kids to work with. the school unfortunately adds very little to the mix. they take little advantage of computers (my son's middle school in syosset, NY was much more advanced even 8 yrs. ago) and seem to focus more on getting kids into college than preparing them for being in college.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 26, 2005

The academics are fantastic in this school, for the most part. The entire school is basically a gift program, so beware of what classes you put your child in. There have been years where an extremely high percentage of students have failed a state test simply because the 'normal' class was too advanced. Also, AP classes are extremely hard to get into. There is a point system and appeals, but not everyone is allowed in. The reason I gave parent involvement such a low grade is because they're too involved in a negative way! Ardsley parents are notorious for complaining until they get what they want! This school is largely white and upper middle class. It's common to hear students discussing their vacations to Europe or the bahamas after a long weekend. If you want to teach your child about the value of the dollar, hard work, and diversity, look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2004

I think that this school is great for a student who is an overachiever. If you have a student who is average they will not do well in Ardsley. The school system provides no help for the average student. They love to show off all their awards but the truth is there is a group of students that Ardsley pays no mind to. The parents of these students are forced to spend thousands on extra help because the school will not provide it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Couldn't ask for a better school. Top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

31 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

12 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

120 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%

Chemistry

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Non-migrant98%

Earth Science

All Students71%
Female78%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities46%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%

English

All Students97%
Female95%
Male98%
African American72%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities76%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%

Geometry

All Students94%
Female97%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities88%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%

Global History and Geography

All Students93%
Female95%
Male89%
African American42%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities60%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%

Integrated Algebra

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities84%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%

Living Environment

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
African American82%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities87%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%

Physics

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Non-migrant98%

U.S. History and Government

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities67%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 75% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 15% 9%
Black 2 5% 19%
Hispanic 1 5% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Farm Rd
Ardsley, NY 10502
Phone: (914) 693-6318

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Dobbs Ferry High School
Dobbs Ferry, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT