Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Byram Hills High School 4

Posted July 15, 2010
- a community member
BHHS is an ideal school for students that are self-motivated and aspire to educational excellence. It also has great programs for students with educational impediments. Throughout the years, BHHS has consistently improved and expanded its facilities -- which are now first in class. If there is any downside to BHHS it is that students in the "middle" can get overlooked.

Byram Hills High School 4

Posted November 07, 2008
- a student
Byram Hills is like a little fish tank of students that have known one another very often since preschool, so moving in late in the game, as my family did, is difficult. It can seem that the area s wealth is an important part of life at the school. I found that my solace, and one of the school s few social advantages, was its being within a reasonable distance to New York City. The teachers are generally of a high quality and usually willing to provide help to the extent that you need it. This school will prepare you to get into college, though not necessarily to succeed once you get there. Everything you do, from AP classes to extra-curriculars, is geared towards making you a competitive college applicant, which you will no doubt become so long as you put in the slightest of effort.


Byram Hills High School 5

Posted December 04, 2007
- a parent
this is a one and only school....that is absolutly fantastic.....my daughter has not always been the smartest girl...but byram has pushed her to her full capacity that now she is attending NYU and studying law...law is what she discovered while taking an elective with a fabulous teacher MR. ALLEN....byram has many other teachers that are great and that will take your kid into the real world while holding hands

Byram Hills High School 3

Posted September 04, 2007
- a community member
I'm an Alum of BHHS. Though a great college-prep school, Byram Hills is a very homogeneous school with a very un-exciting school culture. Students do go to college, and they are quite academically focused, but more for the point of getting into an ivy or a tier one college. There's very little spirit/heart in the student body.

Byram Hills High School 5

Posted May 12, 2006
- a student
The Quality of education in the Byram Hills School District is top notch.More then qualified teachers that care.This school has so much to offer for the kids and the teacher communication is always there as well as welcoming of parent involvement.Extracurricular activities are wide spread that kids have many to chose from and take part in.


Byram Hills High School 5

Posted April 25, 2006
- a student
I graduated from Byram Hills High School in 2004 and thouroughly appreciate the education I received. The teachers are passionate, highly educated, and very willing to help students with questions. The school is very well equipped with technology and the classrooms are in beautiful condition. The only negative thing that I can say about BHHS, is the social scene can be very rough for some students. Students aren't overly friendly to new students and it takes a lot to 'fit in.' Academically I would give this school an A+ but socially I would have to give it about a C-.

Byram Hills High School 5

Posted February 27, 2005
- a student
I graduated from BHHS and it was a wonderful place. It prepared me well for my Ivy-league education. The teachers are caring and smart.

Byram Hills High School 3

Posted January 21, 2005
- a student
I attended this high school from 1995-98. I have family members that are still attending. I felt it didn't do much to encourage progress and was very focused on college. Once I entered college, I found it to be easier than this school. It was extremely competitive and not a great experience. I felt there were too many 'Narks' around campus with all the drug problems. I wouldn't send my children to this school. It was like a prison.


Byram Hills High School 5

Posted July 03, 2004
- a parent
Byram Hills High School has a truly amazing teaching staff. The teachers are young, ethusiastic and caring. College admissions compare favorably with the best prep schools. Programs like Science Research and Mock Trial have given the school a top-notch reputation nationally and locally. AP offerings have increased and the Special Education personnel push each student under their charge to excel.

Nearby schools

Byram Hills High School
12 Tripp Lane, Armonk, NY  10504
(914) 273-9200
Last modified Byram Hills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top