Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 122 Mamie Fay

Public | PK-8 | 1401 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

PS 122 is a great school if your white. Because WE as Hispanic we were treated very poorly. Took my daughter out of that school and she is much happier in a very school. With very very helpful teacher and a super stuff .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

My daughter has been in PS122 since kindergarten and it has been great so far! She is now in 1st grade and her reading and math skills are amazing!! I'm bring my son on board in September! The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

One of the great school @. NYC . My older son was in this school , now my younger son goes in ps 122. I am so so happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Great small school that focuses on academics and excellence. There's 2 parts to this wonderful school: an elementary school (which has gifted and non-gifted programs) and a top-rated gifted middle school. My review is on their dynamic gifted middle school school program. Its a rigorous program that give students the skills and foundation needed to enter the top high schools in the city. Over 95% of the 2013 graduating class received acceptance to the specialized high schools. Their scores rank high both in the state tests and in the 8th grade Regents in Algebra, Science and Spanish. A phenomenal dedicated staff of teachers and administrators make the learning environment positive and nurturing. My son was accepted into his dream high school (Stuyvesant) & is transitioning well because of the great academic foundation he received at this school. Thanks to Ms. Nunez he entered Stuy with fluency of Jr yr level Spanish. Of all his teachers he misses her the most. we both miss the small caring community feeling of this wonderful school. Its by far the best Middle School in Queens & I understand it ranks 3rd in NYC. May this record continue!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

As most schools in our city and country are facing difficult times and causes for failure, it is encouraging and refreshing to note that P.S.122 in Astoria continues to excel and thrive among its peers. Thanks to the wonderful administration, staff, and phenomenal teachers, P.S. 122 faces all challenges and obstacles and transforms them into a rewarding, safe, and rich learning environment.. Congratulations to the P.S.122 community and keep up what you do for your school to be a role model for others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

awsome! All the teachers are great and they all try to get you to your best potential! I love my school and teachers love their students.


Posted August 1, 2013

awsome i love the school! It is amazing and my child learned so much! i am very grateful to teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

cool i love it it is amazing forever and beyond it is amazing i love the school god bless it
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 21, 2013

This school is actually ranked as one of the best in NYC. If you don't believe me, you can check for your self by doing a bit of research. I graduated from this school last year, and now i am a freshman in Stuyvesant High school, along with several of my peers from 122. You might ask, what makes this school so great? The answer is simple. The student- teacher relationships are absolutely amazing. The staff is very friendly, and the academics are excellent, especially starting from 6th grade. As many of the other reviews stated, the best teacher in 122, and my personal favorite would be Mrs. Nunez. She is an extremely dedicated and understanding person. I am so glad to have been her student, and to be a part of the community in general.


Posted January 16, 2013

My son is currently 4th grade. This is a big school. Principal is extremely capable, and she really cares children. However, it is a big school which has 10 classes or so in one grade. G&T kids are in the same class from 1st grade through 5th grade, so that itself is a small intimate community within the school. Best teachers will be allocated to G&T classes, and both parents and teachers pay close attention to student's academic progress. Other kids go through class change every year, and parents may find difficult how to find and get necessary resources. If your child has IEP, this is one of the great schools to go. School doesn't like parents' participations. PTA is not active. Only about 50 parents usually attend general meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

My daughter has been on the Gifted program or Academy since 1st grade(4th grader now). Yes the program is very intense but I am sure that it will pay off as I already see how much more advance my daughter is compared to other 4th graders in our family. Teachers are willing to help as long as the student is cooperating as well as the parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

My daughter will be starting gifted K in this school starting this year. We live in Jackson Heights and I would like to know how the other parents who dont live live in Astoria manage their childs commute to and back from school especially from the neighborhoods like Jackson Heights? I cant use the free yellow bus because I dont have one to pick her up in the afternoons. the private bus i spoke to ( Astoria Express) is willing to do the pick up/drop off but my child would end up being on the bus for over an hour being that he has to finish with the kids living in Astoria first. could anyopne help me, I am going crazy trying to figure out a way? Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

I graduated from this school in 08 and am now a sophomore at Cornell University. This school provided me with the best education available. The teachers stayed afterschool to tutor us for the SHSAT. Without the help of Ms. Economopolous, Mr. Biniaris, and Ms. Antzoulis, I would never have gotten into Stuyvesant. Thank you so much. You guys made such an impact on my life that words simply cannot express.


Posted March 17, 2012

I find this school disorganized. I was told that it was a great school, but was disappointed. They only focus on the bright students, but for the ones having minimal or great trouble they ignore. Naturally, they blame the child. I have had to pick up the slack for the school at home. The teachers don't have aides this year and some teachers have 30 kids so again, the ones having trouble suffer. Not impressed with it. There are a lot of issues with problematic children this year and they do nothing about it. It's a real shame!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

its my first year in the gifted program and its pretty nice, i learned new stuff, met new friends, some teachers, overall its a good school just the rooms aren't that amazing they have cracks and loose paint but its an old school what can we expect.


Posted June 3, 2011

My son is in the gifted program at this school and its a great school. It highly organized. The information is provided in timely manner. Teachers are avaliable at all times, and really listen.. You have to understand that the gifted program is a school within a school. The regular school goes from 1-5, with individual classes, but the real school starts in 6th grade. And the course work and education provided is amazing. It not for everyone, but gifted children thrive there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

Hello, My name is Jacqueline Zavattieri and i was looking for class pictures from 1963 to 1969.Any help would be great .Thank you


Posted November 10, 2010

No one here can understand the greatness of this school. I am an eigth grade student at 122 and I have been there since the second grade. This school is utterly amazing, it surpasses all other schools. I am recently going to change schools due to a plethora of things out of my control, but I will miss 122 with much ardor. This school is my everything. The teachers, especially the academy teachers, are amazing. My favorites are Ms.Nunez, Mr.Biniaris, Ms.Marchassalla, Ms.Economopoulos, and Ms.Antzoulis. I absolutey adore this school and everything it has taught me. The academics at this school have prepared me wonderfully for high school level classes and advanced thinking. If I could choose anything, it would be to not leave this school.


Posted August 4, 2010

My child finished his first year at PS 122 and it definitely was not all it is cracked up to be. By the end of the year he was complaining of boredom at school and this was Kindergarten! We were promised diversified learning yet every time we asked for more work for him it was not delivered. I also have to mention that I felt that his class's demographics were very skewed compared to the general population of his grade, which smacked of segregation, something that simply should not happen in this day and age. Academically I feel the school is lacking when it comes to brighter kids in the non-gifted classes. In terms of arts education, though, the school does shine. Luckily that is something my son could look forward to when he was sitting in class, bored out of his mind by the so-called academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

my daughter got accepted to 122 at the gifted and talented program and the school seems duable for her
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 36% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 35% 9%
Hispanic 2 24% 23%
Black 1 4% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 264%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 55%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Dutch
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1502 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents112697%
Students308100%
Teachers6886%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. PAMELA S. SABEL

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Dutch
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21-21 Ditmars Blvd
Astoria, NY 11105
Phone: (718) 721-6410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 84 Steinway
Astoria, NY


Ps 2 Alfred Zimberg
Jackson Heights, NY



Is 141 The Steinway
Long Island City, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT