Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Queens Lutheran School

Private | PK-6 | 135 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Astoria

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $600,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,510.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2013

Love, love, love this school! This is my daughters second year at the school, and it is fantastic. The class sizes are small (12 kids in the 2nd grade) and the teachers and staff are all super smart, caring, and willing to listen to any concerns you have. The Director is also great. i cannot say enough things about this school. They offer early morning drop off and afterschool. My daughter loves it and was happy to get back to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

As a Graduate of Queens Lutheran School (Now known as ASTORIA LUTHERAN SCHOOL) Iam proud to say that my daughters currently attend Astoria Lutheran School.. ALS is family oriented The class size is small and the teachers are caring and dedicated. ALS is a wonderful school that provides a Christian education that is important in todays society. I am so happy that Astoria Lutheran School is part of our neighborhood! Louisa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

I am one of those over protective parents who still needs to cut the apron strings, so you can imagine my concerns and my apprehension when it was time to send my son to nursery school. This school and its faculty are so incredibly sensitive to the personal needs of every child, I honestly cannot say enough good things about it. I felt very good knowing my son was in excellent hands. I kept him at this school for pre k as well and he had an equally good year there as well. The only downside is that it is gaining so much popularity that they had to create a second afternoon session for pre-k and we ended up in this session. Not my first preference but it turned out well. Lots of kids from all nationalities - best my son learns now that the world is this way...and that's not a bad thing. Teacher incorporated these kids language and cultures into the classroom. New Director this year is very different from last year's but really cares about the school. Thank you all for providing my son with an excellent two years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

This school offers something that the other local schools don't--an overnight camping trip which is such an incredibly awesome experience for the children! This small, caring school has been truly amazing for my children's continued growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

My son had gone to the school and I pulled him out after a few months. He cried everyday when he had to go to school. I was unhappy with the response I got from his teacher and director. He is in a different school and is now happy and can't wait to go to school. I think that says a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

Queens Lutheran School is a diamond in the rough! You cannot find a more compassionate and dedicated faculty than at QLS. The community at QLS is a kind, loving, and caring family. The teachers' goal is to educate its students how to become the best that they can be as individuals. Keep up the incredible work!


Posted April 14, 2010

WONDERFUL teachers. They are caring and dedicated. The entire staff, faculty and administration have their best interest in their students, parents or guardians.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The most caring teachers and students...they give back so much to the greater community. They are the future of a wonderful world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

My husband and I are VERY happy with this school. The class size is small and the teacher makes learning fun and interesting. In other schools I looked at the learning environment was sterile and uninviting but my childs classroom is much more student friendly. I get regular progress reports so I know what's going on (in previous years I felt very out of the loop). Perhaps most importantly my child LOVES school, looks forward to learning and comes out happy every day. Who can ask for more than that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

My husband and I are VERY happy with this school. The small class size allows the teacher to really interact with all students and give each child the attention they need. A folder is sent home regularly with a checklist, classwork and tests so we can see how our son is doing. My child's classroom is a bright and active learning environment. Perhaps the most important praise I can give is that my son LOVES school, is excited about learning and leaves school happy every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

Small class sizes, weekly progress reports, teachers are great, fun and interesting extra activities, located conveniently 2 blocks away from the N/W train. Recently added greenhouse which the kids love and enjoy, something you won't find in other schools in this area. my family loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

A teacher once told me to stand outside the school you would like to enroll in and see what the children are like that come outside. I did this and was pleasantly surprised that the QLS students 1-8 were repectful, polite, and well-behaved. I was most impressed with the older kids who when turning the corner from school maintained their decorum. Unlike all the other schools in the are (parochial included) where the older kids come out swearing and looking like riff-raff from music videos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

My child and I both love this school. The small class sizes lets the teachers gt to know the children personally. The teachers are great, and know how to put the children in their place. I would reccomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 52%
Hispanic 37% 21%
Black 16% 21%
Asian 8% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31-20 21st Avenue
Astoria, NY 11105
Phone: (718) 721-4313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Is 141 The Steinway
Long Island City, NY





Ps 84 Steinway
Astoria, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT