Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-1|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Les Enfants Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
They focus on respect from both teachers and students. They are very focused on children using please and thank you and being polite to one another.

Les Enfants Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are compassionate and caring with their students and children pick up on the attitudes surrounding them


Les Enfants Montessori School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
My son has learned to properly address his teachers in a respectful manner and understands discipline when he misbehaves. I believe the school has assisted reinforcing what we already began at home.

Les Enfants Montessori School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Shelina and Ms. Sunaytra have made my son feel so comfortable and happy at that school and i feel blessed to have such caring and talented teachers surrounding my child

Les Enfants Montessori School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
My son is 2.5 and his vocabulary has more than doubled since starting at Les Enfants this summer. He brings home his work every week and proudly explains to me what he has done (including his picture of a quatrefoil). I am very happy with how caring and involved the teachers are. They follow up at pick up with how he is progressing and any observations they have. I highly recommend this school for early education.


Les Enfants Montessori School 5

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
My son happily goes to school every day. He takes piano classes there and will be starting yoga in the fall. I don't have to get him from school and take him to different classes. The teachers are great and loving. The support staff is warm and helpful. I love the facility. In general it is a warm and cheerful place. I have not had a problem with communication. When I have a question, I call or email and ask questions and the administration answers.

Les Enfants Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
My son is two and knows the entire alphabet. He can count past 15. He uses correct pronouns and the past tense of verbs correctly.

Les Enfants Montessori School 4

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
My son has been going to Les Enfants for a few months and we are having a good experience so far. They have been accommodating to his early intervention therapists, who come for appointments every day of the week. The staff is very helpful and loving towards the children. My son really looks forward to going there, and he doesn't want to leave when we come to pick him up :) Email communication about events and such has definitely improved since he started there. I do agree with previous posters that I wish we had more communication with the teachers. We were told parents can call any day at 11 to check on their child. I don't necessarily feel the need to do that, but I would really love an email or progress report from the teacher just to see the kind of things he's working on, what he's doing, what we can do to help at home, etc. Overall, I really like this school, and my son is learning a lot and enjoying himself.


Les Enfants Montessori School 5

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
My daughter started in January; she has made tremendous progress ; She is happy to go to school everyday; she takes Piano, Ballet,Karate , and Yoga. She loves her new school. The place is clean; and the organization is getting better. Parents get emails with information re the monthly calendar or any sensitive info. I can always talk to my daughters teachers at pick up time if I have any question on how she is doing . They keep the children in the cafeteria at pick up time ; and you are able to go in if you desire. Sounds like a lot of negative reviews are for the administration; but in my personal experience the Director has been polite and has been very helpful with helping our daughter settle in; I can't think of any public school that allows you to roam around freely in the school observing classes or picking up children. I would recommend this school to anyone. We all have different requirements of what we are looking for in a school; I waited a long time to take my daughter here because of all the contradicting reviews ; But I wish I had taken her sooner . She is happy and learning and well taken cared of .

Les Enfants Montessori School 1

Posted March 02, 2015
- a community member
I am convinced that the high reviews of this school are from the administrators, because this is the most awful, poorly ran, UNORGANIZED school I have ever seen in my life. In my professional opinion, the director and "principal" of this school have had no formal education on how to run a school, and have no clue how to talk to people. The lack of interpersonal skills are alarming, to say the least. Also, the parents are left in a holding cell to collect their children at the end of the day and are not allowed to speak with the teachers (very suspect). While there is a very nice man who works there, Mrs. D'Alonzo and Mrs. Rivera are two of the most disrespectful authority figures I've ever seen who are allowed to work with children. The children seem to be in somewhat satisfactory care with their teachers, but from what I saw from the inside, they are shuffled around all day with out any proper handling or organization. PLEASE DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN TO THIS SCHOOL! You will regret it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Les Enfants Montessori School
29-21 Newtown Avenue, Astoria, NY  11102
(718) 626-9549
Last modified Les Enfants Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-1
Les Enfants Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. Top