Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baldwin Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1715 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2014

I am an active parent of a Baldwin High School student and feel quite concerned about the negative comments the school has received. Remember like any school, the students make the school. It appears to me that the negative ratings and comments are not only based on test scores but on the demographics of the community. Baldwin High School students are 48% African Americans, about 35% White/European Americans, and 17% or less Hispanics. It appears to me that when any school is dominated by a group other than White/European Americans it is classified as an inadequate school. The students in this great diversified community come from families who are classified as professionals. The professionals I'm referring to are doctors, lawyers, teachers, engineers, and corporate management. The school has a excellent academic agenda with great teachers and subpar teachers, just like any other school, private or public. The parents who have students that attend this institution are extremely active in the community as well as the school. We need to stop classifying a school as a failure or horrible when the demographics in the area is diversified. Baldwin High School is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

The academic and administrative staff is great. I have a freshman in the school. The music program is wonderful. The sportsnite tradition is currently 80 yrs old. My daughter has made high honor roll 3 quarters in a row.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

As a graduate of Baldwin Senior High School, it's disheartening for me to read the comments below and see just how much the school has declined since I was a student there. Back then, the school's reputation was stellar and deservedly so: teachers were dedicated and fully engaged, and students the vast majority of whom were college-bound truly cared about their grades and their futures. Apart from the excellent academics and wonderful enrichment of after-school activities and clubs, BSHS was always a totally safe place to be. I can't remember there ever being a need for a police presence on school grounds. It's sad for me to know that this is no longer the case. It sounds as if the school has declined markedly since I was a student there; if the numbers of spelling and grammatical mistakes I saw in students' reviews on this site are any indicator, there is some serious work to be done to bring academic standards back up to speed.


Posted December 29, 2012

Baldwin High continues to be a great public high school. The academic and administrative staff is great and will contact the parents if need be. I have two seniors and a junior in the school. The guidance counselor involvement the entire college search and acceptance procedure has been exceptional. The school has had a couple of recent events that have put a cloud over the overall experience but I feel the positive way outweighs the negative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Baldwin I found to be great, i have graduated and i liked BHS, yes it was not perfect,but is any school? It all depends on who talk to. I was not an AP or honors student either. I learned and noticed lots of things some good some bad, yes there were fights but not alot, yes ther has been police precence but that could happen anywhere. IT depends on the students out look, because there really were a lot of opportunities to snach up depnding on what you want to do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2011

Anyone who says they love this school has spent thier whole time in the AP and honors classes or the music wing. Outside of that there are threats, fights, students who don't care about thier grades or future, and worse teachers who don't care
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2010

I just graduated this past June. The BSHS is largely what you make of it to the disgruntled teacher below-- I'm sorry that you couldn't handle it, but please don't exaggerate saying you were fearful about "walking to your car", give me a break, as a daughter of two NYC school teachers I'm informed that the occasional disciplinary glitches at Baldwin are nothing too serious, but an excuse to wind up bad press. As a National AP Scholar with Distinction and National Merit Commended student, I have to say that students willing to work hard and learn will get so much out of their experience at Baldwin. I have had some of the best teachers of my life at Baldwin; the opportunities are there, you just have to seek them out. I came to BSHS after 9 years at a totally White Irish Catholic school-- I'm pretty certain that the diverse experience I gained from Baldwin is priceless and vastly surpasses experiences of my peers in private high schools. The music program is also top notch!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2010

I am a former teacher of Baldwin H.S. I stayed one year and ran as fast as I could. The principal and two of the asst principals are completely and utterly ineffective. I have no idea what one of them does, besides hang around in the Guidance office. Student insubordination is overlooked,no rules are enforced and the halls can be dangerous. Teachers have been injured during fights. Several times I was afraid to walk to my car, but the administration wants to hide of this and pretend that it is still the high performing school is was in the 80's. Those days are over, and Baldwin needs more security like they have in Uniondale , Roosevelt and Hempstead. Teachers are are silenced when the try to speak up, and the union is useless. I would send my child to private school if I could, or try to move out of Baldwin.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2009

Pros: Excellent teachers, athletics, art/music programs, exceptional business/internship opportunities and a wide variety of academic options. A place where diversity & excellence is modelled. Cons: The school functions well despite its dysfunctional & incompetent principal. The students do not know her; she is just not visible in the morning or during the school day! Discipline is inconsisent and recent police presence in the building is not warranted and reflect a non-necessary negative tone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

the best school to come to and the best teacher in the county
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

Great School with some minor issues that can easily addressed. School to Career program is wonderful. These students get real life experiences such as shadow days, internships, guest speakers that many schools do not offer its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2008

baldwin senior is a great school which is surrouned by a great and safe supporting community


Posted May 27, 2008

Baldwin is a great school! they offer so many electives and classes for students to take, and we do have a few misguided children, but overall its a nice school. It is up to each student to get their best experience out of high school, and the few troubled kids who make baldwin look bad are like less than 10% of our entire school population! I LOVE BSHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2008

This is the Best school ever... the teachers really make a difference... the best thing that ever happened to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2007

Unlike my experience with a specialized NYC high-school with my first child, the BSHS teachers, deans and principal's office do not allow any to be 'lost in the shuffle' or allowed to fall behind without involving the parents. All are very responsive to individual academic concerns and requests for meetings. This is a large school but it is adequately staffed to handle the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2006

We are the parents of a Senior and an entering Freshman. BHS administration and its teachers are quite phenominal! Without a doubt the District itself has sold a large number of homes because of the fantastic education that our children are offered. The Principal and staff are at the TOP OF THEIR GAMES!!! The teachers do not hesitate to contact the parents and they make the students know that they are getting the best, therefore, the best is expected of them!!! For too long this District should have BEEN THE PERFORMING ARTS DISTRICT!!! With all of these components in place what can you expect?? GREATNESS!!! GREATNESS!! GREATNESS!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My son is a freshman and if he chooses to succeed the foundation is available to make it happen as with the other students. The decision to succeed ultimately belongs to the child along with parental support which must continues for the BHS to keep up it's standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

This school provides everything that you would want your kid's school to provide to you. Baldwin Senior High the teachers work with the students and keeps the parents informed of progress immediately. They offer foreign languages which is very excellent. They offer Photography programs and excellent Science programs. They allow the parents to be involved by keeping in close contact with the progress of the kids. They have mandatory physical education five days a week which is very important to healthy kids and healthy minds. Kids have band and football and many many more extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

Great Business Department!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2004

BSHS is a great school with some problems. Such problems are the administrations lack of involvement with afterschool activities. I.E. the school's musicals, which are phenomenal (So great that Baldwin was selected to premiere the Broadway musical 'Ragtime'), student insubordination (Not extreme, but there is still this problem which I don't think is handle accordingly), and slight, slight, slight racism between the students. However, the advantages the school offers along with the overall quality of the school outways it's problems. As I stated before, the school's drama department is phenomenal. Tying into this is the music department. Whether it's the choir winning competitions left and right or the symphonic band, we can always be assured that they will be amazing. And then there is the staff. They are so involved with the students while keeping the mentality of a teacher. They care about what they do and it shows!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

256 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students46%
Female46%
Male45%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities60%
General population46%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English46%
Non-migrant46%

Chemistry

All Students76%
Female78%
Male73%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant76%

Earth Science

All Students66%
Female71%
Male63%
African American64%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities34%
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%

English

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
African American88%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities49%
General population94%
English language learners43%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%

Geometry

All Students73%
Female73%
Male71%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial91%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities56%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%

Global History and Geography

All Students81%
Female80%
Male83%
African American81%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities46%
General population88%
English language learners54%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%

Integrated Algebra

All Students70%
Female75%
Male64%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities36%
General population78%
English language learners67%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%

Living Environment

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
African American89%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities65%
General population95%
English language learners68%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%

Physics

All Students79%
Female78%
Male79%
African American70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%

U.S. History and Government

All Students91%
Female90%
Male91%
African American90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities60%
General population94%
English language learners59%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 45% 19%
White 1 30% 48%
Hispanic 2 20% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 4% 9%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 47%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SUSAN KNORS
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

841 E T Kloberg Dr
Baldwin, NY 11510
Website: Click here
Phone: (516) 377-9203

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


South Side High School
Rockville Centre, NY




Roosevelt High School
Roosevelt, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT