Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plaza Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 462 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2011

My child is currently attending this school. I am very please with the curriculum and the attention she gets in her classroom. This school is an excellent school. There always been a teacher parent relationship if you want to know about your child or at any given time you wants an update on your child's progress. Parent involment is very important also. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2010

As a parent with a child that has special needs, Plaza school is very accomodating and caring. Parental involvement is a must! We have a diverse and close community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

They are like a family with caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

As the President of Plaza PTA is warms my heart to see all the positive feedback Plaza Elementary and our PTA is getting. The staff and faculty of Plaza goes above and beyond for our children. Plaza PTA is a driving force behind all the childrens Cultural Arts Assemblies. Our members work hard to fund raise throughout the school year to offer our children the best in educational and fun events. After serving Plaza PTA for 14 years my youngest will graduate to Baldwin Middle School in June 2010. I plan to make the most of my last year here at Plaza, and if you would like to join me... e mail plazapta@aol.com for details on becoming a Plaza PTA member! Barbara Garrett PTA President 2002-2004 2008-2010
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

Plaza is a great little school. The parents are very involved, the faculty cares, and the kids learn while having fun. Its a very progressive school whether we're talking about kindergarten or 5th grade. Its a diverse student body and that alone is worth its weight in gold. Plaza is the best elementary school in the district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

Outstanding School...my son just transferred into the 4th Grade from an area Catholic School and I'm happy to say that he finally belongs. The staff works countless hours and supports the children in all aspects of learning and development. The music program is unlike any other and the students are very well behaved and happy. Classes of 22 students are not large (compared to Catholic School where there are 28 students per class) and there is so much hands on learning during the day. We are so happy with Plaza that we are transferring our two younger children next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Awesome! my 5th grade child has learned more than my son in 7th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

Plaza is a bit overcrowded, but manageable. The academic are not very challenging and too routine. Subjects such as science and social studies sould be taught more on a daily basis. The band teacher is well equiped, informed and a very great outlet for all those involved. He is a great instructor and a blessing to the school. There is not much of an art program or science exhibits. The school has a great PTA, where the parents are all involved in doing extra curriculum activies for the children. The PTA is a blessing for the Plaza school and the children of Plaza. The overall environment of the school is great. Most of the children are well-behaved and respectful. Most of the teachers are very nice and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

My son is in 1st Grade at Plaza. My child has had specific struggles in keeping up with the general academic level and both his K and 1 teachers have been amazing in working with him to create an individualized learning plan while maintaining goals for him that are on par with the rest of the class. The class sizes are 22 kids, but the teachers manage to customize learning for all kids, be it a child with advanced skills or below average. Parental involvment is highly encouraged and I have always felt warmly welcomed into my child's class. The cultural environment at Plaza is great. People from every background live in the neighborhood and it makes for a diverse, yet close-knit school community where parents get to know each other through involvment in the many family-related activities during and after school. It's a great environment for kids and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

My daughter attends the first grade at Plaza. The academics are satisfactory. I feel that if students are capable of learning more that they should be challenged. The classroom size is too large. There are 22 students in each class and there are 4 first grade classes. The music, art and physical education program are very good. The teachers are very competent. The school is diverse which is great. All holidays and cultures are celebrated. The leadership is excellent. I only wish that there were fewer students in the classroom to allow teachers to provide more individual attention and to move beyond the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

My oldest child started K this year at Plaza, and I couldn't be happier. I'm a teacher myself, so I can be picky, but I also know what it takes for a school to be top notch, and Plaza is defintely up there. My daughter loves her teachers, the music program is excellent, and her art and phys ed time is well spent. Her teacher is simply amazing - finds time to work with each child and eveything she does is done with so much love and attention to detail. The administration is warm, friendly, and caring as well. On the downside, the school is crowded and the lack of space, in my opinion, keeps it from being the best it can be, though I must hand it to the Principal and staff for making the best of the limited available space.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Academics are adequate - preparing for the increased state testing takes up a lot of class time. The music program is fantastic - my son has music every day, including a weekly horn lesson with 1 teacher to 2 students. The PTA is active - raises money for cultural arts & class trips. My main complaint is that the school is increasingly crowded. No music classroom, no art classroom and lunch & indoor recess are mob scenes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

I have one child in the school for the past two years. The teachers have been energetic and caring. They seem to put 200% effort into their classes. We love the music program. There are two full-time music teachers, a string orchestra, band, jazz band, chorus and select chorus available to the students beginninig in third grade. The art teachers guide the students in beautiful projects. The Phys ed teacher is loved by everyone- parents, teachers and students. The PTA is extremely active, providing many activities for the students. On the down side, the school operates under all of the constraints of any public school. The curriculum is formulaic, even if some individual teachers try to make it more interesting for the students. Student teacher ratios are about 20:1 in first grade, which is below the maximum but sometimes seems to be too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 33% 23%
Black 1 29% 19%
White 2 29% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
Two or more races 1 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 211%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 64%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MARK GRAY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Seaman Ave
Baldwin, NY 11510
Website: Click here
Phone: (516) 377-9361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wilson School
Rockville Centre, NY





Hewitt School
Rockville Centre, NY


School 3
Oceanside, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT