Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Christopher Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 315 students

We are best known for strong Catholic identity.

 
 

Living in Baldwin

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $315,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2012

Working at St. Christopher School is like one big happy family. The support that the teachers, students, families and administration give is overwhelming. It was so nice to be at the feast, supporting the school and parish when past and present students walk up and say hello. The love and respect from the St. Chris families is priceless.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2012

As a teacher I am proud to represent St. Christopher. The students are a wonderful group; who make getting up every morning worth it. St. Christopher school offers so much educationally and spiritually, as well as many extra curricular and service activities. I am fortunate enough to love my job and the students and faculty that I see everyday.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2012

St. Christopher Feast was last week. What a wonderful time of cooperation and commardarie!! Parents, students and parishioners working together to support the school. It's a great place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 29, 2012

I was so impressed by this school when I went to visit at their open house today. I was met with smiling faces everywhere I went and was excited to see so much parent involvement! The teachers seem wonderful and SMARTBOARDS in every classroom is something very valuable in todays world. I was so happy to see so many athletic teams being offered as part of the schools membership in the Catholic Middle School Athletic Association. I'm happy to say that my children will be coming to St. Christopher next year!


Posted January 29, 2012

A great school with great leadership. I love St. Chris! I love teaching and coaching here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 24, 2012

As a teacher at St. Christopher School, it is nice to know that prayer can be incorporated each day. Receiving Sacraments, Prayer Services, Service Projects, Altar Servers and going to Church as a School Community adds so much more to the school day. Our teachers prepare our students for the future, academically, as well as lifelong lessons. To add to this, there are many extracurricular activities. These activities include, Science Club, Board Games Club, Newspaper Club, Student Council, Math Fantasy Baseball, Rosary Club, Cheerleading, Basketball, Baseball, Softball, Drama Club, Math Olympiads, Almaniacs, Sports Night, and a whole lot more. Check us out at our Open House on Sunday, January 29th!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2012

I have four children who attended St. Christopher school. Today they are all successful adults. The foundation they received academically along with the re-enforcement of our catholic faith was more than a parent can ask. I only hope and pray my grandchildren will have the same opportunity.. That is a strong catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

My child has attended St. Chris since kindergarden and has had a great experience. He has made many friends, played sports, received the sacraments and gotten an excellent education. The teachers are caring and professional. They run many clubs and activities after school. The small group sizes in math and ela in the junior high have helped my child to do his best. My child was accepted into the three high schools he applied to and was awarded a scholarship to one. Thank you St Chris!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

St .Chris has dedicated teachers who are always willing to give a child extra help. The school and the students are involved in many activities that help others in need. Visit our school on Jan. 29 and you can meet our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 21, 2012

Grade 8 just received their acceptances to Catholic High Schools. Everyone was accepted into schools of their choice. Many received scholarships based on their score on the High School Entrance Exam. Thank you to the dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 19, 2011

I had attended St. Christophers from 5th to 8th grade and went on to a top High School. St. Chris did not prepare me for the work I endured during my High School years and did not help me explore my Christianity. Hopefully this school has changed the teachers as well since Father Steve has now been appointed in charge. Also I now know a current student that is in need of extra help, but none of the teachers like to give extra attention to students in need.


Posted June 21, 2010

It is an average school that does not provide an atmosphere that edifiesand encourages living the Christian faith nor do they have enough teachers that can be considered truly professional . The principal should retire as her lack of direction and leadership has become a talking point among many concerned parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

St. Christopher's is a good school, but there tuition rates are through the roof. They charge an extra $3,000.00 if you want to raise your christian, not catholic. It is a sin to charge someone extra money, when you are still raising your child in a christian faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

I attended St Christopher's school from kindergarden to 8th grade and have done extremly well in high shcool. Some claim that the school needs work academically but i would like to provide an example of how baseless this notion is. I went to St Chris for 9 years and am now enrolled in a competitive catholic high school. Im taking all honors and college level courses including advanced placement united states history and honors physics. St Christopher's prepared me well for these accomplishments. While St Christopher's does not have the resources for children who need advanced care and special educatoin it does provide good education for the average student. St Christophers has an academic intervention program and every teacher offers extra help.


Posted September 23, 2008

As far as St. Christopher's goes academically they need more improvement. They charge alot of tutition and you really don't get what you are paying for. Having to do hours is alot for parents who work and it seems that only certain families get acknowledge. If your child has any issues you are basically on your own. There is not enough available through the school. I was an unhappy parent and since my family left St. Christopher's my children have blossomed and love their new school.


Posted April 15, 2008

While the St Christophers School is a healthy environment it does lack in a specific area. Should a child need additional resources such as reading , mathmatics, writing, they can only provide an Academic Intervention Service. This service though it is of some help is not sufficient for children who require more assistance and more time. Unfortunately since many private schools do not have the funding for additional help classes this burden falls on outside resources which adds to the financial burden a parent has when sending a child to a private institution. It is my hope that the school will get more funding and that this will no longer be an issue for children who need that extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

St Christopher School is superior. The healthy school environment keeps students attentive disciplined and beguiled at the same time. Christian attitude, and Behavior is very important. As a Catholic School we welcome everyone no matter race, or religion to try to enter. No matter who you are where you come from or what religion you are, you will be furthermore omniscient on Christian/Catholic beliefs and traditions. We attend mass regularly and students are allowed to join church ministries. Alter Service Choristers Alter Service, Choristers, & Bell Choir some of these ministries. Sport activities are available to those of age. Extra help is feasible to all pupils. Teachers will literally relinquish everything to help a student. Academic excellence in the school means that the teachers are phenomenal, and choice of textbook and workbooks are wonderous. We have the academic excellence. Teachers are very experienced. We have the academic The good immaculate school environment is wonderful. thank you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2006

St.chris has a nice staff and they really try there best with all of the chidren
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 52%
Black 31% 21%
Hispanic 12% 21%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Catholic Middle School Boys Basketball Championship (2008)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Anne Lederer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (516) 223-1409

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • St. Christopher Schoolhas a very dedicated qualified faculty. It offers clubs and activities for all. We follow NYS standards and Diocesan curriculum. We offer both an Academic Intervention Program and Enrichment classes (Grades 1-4). Our 8th Grade Research Course prepares students to research and write major papers in high school. Many familiy activites are planned through the Home and School Association.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Holy Trinity
Kellenberg Memorial
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Pershing Blvd
Baldwin, NY 11510
Website: Click here
Phone: (516) 223-4404

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


School 3
Oceanside, NY




Wilson School
Rockville Centre, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT